KCCA players join Julius Poloto in celebrating his goal against Vipers in the Uganda Cup final Credit: FUFA Media
  • Uganda Cup Final: Vipers 0-1 KCCA
[/media-credit] Julius Poloto celebrates his Uganda Cup final goal against Vipers Credit: FUFA Media

KCCA Football Club defeated rivals Vipers 1-0 in the 44th final of the Uganda Cup played at the Emokori playground in Bukedea district on Saturday.

Uganda U-20 captain Julius Poloto headed home the all-important goal in the 42nd minute of the well-attended game. Poloto was well positioned to divert home Allan Okello’s fierce shot from 40 yards on the right flank.

KCCA completed the last 20 minutes of the game with a man less after their star player Sadam Ibrahim Juma was red carded for two bookable offences.

In the early stages of the game, tournament joint top scorer Patrick Kaddu headed over Isma Watenga’s goal off Habibu Kavuma’s free-kick 30 yards away on the left flank.

At the other end, Tadeo Lwanga had a grounded shot off target after being set up by Daniel Sserunkuma on 10 minutes.

Vipers’ winger Duncan Sseninde became the first player to be cautioned by FIFA Referee Mashood Ssali after a malicious foul on Allan Okello after 20 minutes.

Four minutes later, KCCA’s Sadam fouled Milton Karisa and the former was also cautioned, picking his first of the two cards on the day. KCCA goalkeeper Charles Lukwago was well positioned to parry away the resultant free-kick by Yayo Lutimba for a corner kick.

Uganda U-20 captain Julius Poloto lit up the Emokori crowd with the goal, headed past Watenga three minutes to the mandatory half time break.

Six minutes into the second half, Vipers had a double change with Brian Nkuubi and Steven Mukwala were introduced for Dan Sserunkuma and Duncan Sseninde respectively.

On the 66th minute, Vipers called for the final change when Moses Wasswa’s place was taken up by forward Steven Mukwala, a change meant to add numbers up front in search for the much needed equalizer.

Three minutes later, Jackson Nunda had a shot sail wide from 20 yards before his place was taken over by Paul Mucureezi.

KCCA played the final 20 minutes with a man less after Sadam’s red card for a deliberate handball.

Kaddu suffered a head injury but managed to push on for the remaining minutes of the game with a bandage.

KCCA would have easily made it two when Mucureezi’s attempt inside the goal area was blocked by defender Halid Lwaliwa following a great chested pass from Kaddu.

Solomon Okwalinga replaced Allan Okello inside the final 5 minutes before the Kasasiro lads held onto the lead to win their 10th Uganda Cup title since 1971.

KCCA will represent the country at the 2018 CAF Confederation Cup.

Team Line Ups

[/media-credit] Vipers starting XI that played against KCCA in the Uganda Cup final Credit: FUFA Media

Vipers Sports Club XI: Isma Watenga (G.K),  Geofrey Wasswa, Yayo Lutimba, Halid Lwaliwa, Bashir Asiku, Tadeo Lwanga, Milton Karisa, Moses Waiswa, Erisa Ssekisambu, Dan Sserunkuma, Duncan Sseninde

Subs: James Alitho (G.K), Ashraf Mandela, Steven Mukwala,  Tom Masiko, Brian Nkuubi, Pius Wangi, Frank “Zagga” Tumwesigye

[/media-credit] KCCA line-up that played Vipers in the Uganda Cup final Credit: FUFA Media

KCCA XI: Charles Lukwago (G.K), Fillbert Obenchan, Habibu Kavuma,Timothy Dennis Awany, Paul Musamali, Isaac Kirabira, Sadam Ibrahim Juma, Jackson Nunda, Julius Poloto, Allan Okello, Patrick Kaddu

Subs: Tom Ikara (G.K), Jamil Malyamungu (G.K), Denis Okot Oola, Eric Ssenjobe, Solomon Okwalinga, Paul Mucureezi, Ibrahim Wannamah

Match Officials

  • Center Referee: Mashood Ssali
  • 1st Assistant: Musa Ngobi Balikoowa
  • 2nd Assistant Referee: Lee Okello
  • Fourth Official: Brian Miiro Nsubuga
  • Referees’ Assessor: Amin Bbosa Nkono
  • Match Commissioner: Ronnie Kalema


  • Best Goalkeeper: Charles Lukwago (KCCA)
  • Top Scorer: Patrick Kaddu (KCCA) – 6 Goals
  • MVP: Allan Okello (KCCA)

Uganda Cup (Kakungulu Cup) Winners since 1971

  • 1971 –Coffee F.C
  • 1972-1975-Not Held
  • 1976- Gangama F.C
  • 1977- Simba F.C
  • 1978 – Nsambya F.C
  • 1979 – KCC F.C
  • 1980 – KCC F.C
  • 1981 – Coffee F.C
  • 1982 – KCC F.C
  • 1983 – SC Villa
  • 1984 – KCC F.C
  • 1985 – Express F.C
  • 1986 – SC Villa
  • 1987 – KCC F.C
  • 1988 – SC Villa
  • 1989 – SC Villa
  • 1990 – KCC F.C
  • 1991 – Express F.C
  • 1992 – Express F.C
  • 1993 – KCC F.C
  • 1994 – Express F.C
  • 1995 – Express F.C
  • 1996 – UEB S.C
  • 1997 – Express F.C
  • 1998 – SC Villa
  • 1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C
  • 2000 – SC Villa
  • 2001 – Express F.C
  • 2002 – SC Villa
  • 2003 – Express F.C
  • 2004 – KCC F.C
  • 2005 – URA F.C
  • 2006 – Express F.C
  • 2007 – Express F.C
  • 2007/8 – Victors S.C
  • 2008/9 – SC Villa
  • 2009/10 – Victors S.C
  • 2010/11 – Simba S.C
  • 2011/12 – URA F.C
  • 2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University
  • 2013/2014 – URA F.C
  • 2014/15 – SC Villa
  • 2015/16 – Vipers Sports Club
  • 2016/17 – KCCA
  • 2017/18 – KCCA

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think