Denis Onyango
Denis Onyango

Uganda Cranes and Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper is the best goalkeeper in Africa for the year, 2018.

This was confirmed after Onyango was named on the FIFPro team of the year during the CAF Awards held in Dakar, Senegal on Tuesday night.

CAF footballer of the year 2018 Mohammed Salah, Aurier, Benatia, Bailly, Koulibaly, Keita, Partey, Riyad Mahrez, Aubameyang and Sadio Mane completed the best XI.

Onyango stood out for club (Mamelodi Sundowns) and country, guiding the Uganda Cranes as captain once again to the Africa Cup of Nations, without conceding a goal in as many as 450 minutes, with a game to spare.

He was personally in Dakar to pick his award on a night Liverpool and Egypt forward Mohammed Salah was named the overall African footballer of the year.

Meanwhile, Mauritania beat Uganda Cranes to the CAF best national team of the year.

Also, Uganda Cranes’ striker Derrick Nsibambi lost in the CAF best goal of the year catergory to South Africa’s Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana .

Africa Best XI 2018

FUFA President, Moses Magogo who is also a CAF Executive Committee member, Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastien Desabre as well as the federation CEO, also a CAF Study group technical committee member Edgar Watson also attended the awards night.

L-R: Edgar Watson, Dennis Onyango, Moses Magogo and Sebastien Desabre after the CAF Awards in Senegal

Full Awards:

Player of the Year: Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year: Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)

Youth Player of the Year: Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd)

Men’s Coach of the Year: Herve Renard (Morocco)

Women’s Coach of the Year: Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Men’s National Team of the Year: Mauritania

Women’s National Team of the Year: Nigeria

Platinum Award: His Excellency Macky Sall (President of the Republic of Senegal)

Federation President of the Year: Fouzi Lekjaa

Goal of the Year: Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think