Henry Patrick Kaddu (C) celebrates his goal against Cape Verde at Namboole | © JOHN BATANUDDE
Locally based players as striker Patrick Kaddu (C) and Moses Waiswa (right) are eligible to play in the CHAN qualifiers and final tournament. | © JOHN BATANUDDE

CHAN 2020 Qualifiers | Central Eastern Zone (First Round)

  • Uganda Cranes Vs South Sudan
  • Somalia Vs Rwanda
  • Tanzania Vs Sudan
  • Kenya Vs Burundi

*Dates and venues to be confirmed later

Uganda Cranes will face South Sudan in the first round of the qualifiers for the 2020 African Nations Championship (CHAN) to be hosted by Ethiopia.

This was confirmed during the draws held on Wednesday, 30 January 2019 at the CAF Headquarters in Cairo, Egypt on the side-lines of the Organising Committee of the competition.

Acting General Secretary Essadik Alaoui chaired the meeting on behalf of the CAF President Ahmad Ahmad.

The winner between Uganda and South Sudan over the two legs will face the winner between Somalia and Rwanda for a slot to the final tournament that will be hosted in Ethiopia come 2020.

Shafiq Kagimu takes on a South Sudanese opponent in the previous CHAN qualifier at Lugogo. PHOTO: JOHN BATANUDDE Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Forty-seven (47) countries engaged in the battle for 15 places to join host Ethiopia for the final tournament of the sixth edition of the tournament designed exclusively for footballers playing in their domestic leagues.

In the other first round games, Tanzania will face Sudan as Kenya will lock horns against Burundi.

Uganda, Rwanda, Sudan and Burundi had been drawn in Pot 1 whilst Pot 2 had Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan and Tanzania.

The draw was the highlight of the meeting of the 25-member committee, which saw the format and procedure approved.

The format of the competition remains unchanged and will be played on a zonal basis to determine the finalists for Ethiopia.

Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastien Desabre will think of players as Dan Muzeyi Sserunkuma for the CHAN qualifiers Credit: FUFA Media

Uganda has played at four CHAN Championships in Sudan (2011), South Africa (2014), Rwanda (2016) and lately Morocco (2018).

Democratic Republic of Congo are the record winners with two titles as Morocco are the reigning champions.

Other Round 1 Fixtures

Northern Zone

  • Algeria Vs Morocco
  • Tunisia Vs Libya

Western Zone – A

  • Guinea Bissau Vs Mali
  • Cape Verde Vs Mauritania
  • Liberia Vs Senegal

Western Zone – B:

  • Benin Vs Togo

Round 2

  • Winner Benin/Togo Vs Nigeria
  • Niger Vs Cote D’Voire
  • Ghana Vs Burkina Faso

Central Zone:

Round 1:

  • Central Africa Republic Vs Chad

Round 2:

  • Winner Central Africa Republic/Chad Vs DR Congo
  • Cameroon Vs Sao Tome and Principe
  • Equatorial Guinea Vs Congo

Southern Zone:

Round 1:

  • Botswana Vs Seychelles
  • Swaziland Vs Malawi

Round 2:

  • Winner Botswana/ Seychelles Vs Zambia
  • Winner Malawi/Swaziland Vs Angola
  • Comoros Vs Namibia
  • Madagascar Vs Mozambique
  • Lesotho Vs South Africa
  • Mauritius Island Vs Zimbabwe

Round 3:

  • Winner Botswana / Seychelles Vs Zambia Vs Winner Malawi/Swaziland Vs Angola
  • Winner Comoros / Namibia Vs Winner Madagascar / Mozambique
  • Winner Lesotho / South Africa Vs Mauritius Island / Zimbabwe

The quota for the various zones is as follows:

Northern Zone – 2 teams

Western A Zone – 2 teams

Western B Zone – 3 teams

Central Zone – 3 teams

Central-East Zone – 2 teams + Ethiopia

Southern Zone – 3 teams

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think