Uganda Cubs celebrate Credit: Eddie Ggaliwango
Some of the Uganda U-17 players celebrating a goal. (Photo: FUFA Media) Credit: Eddie Ggaliwango

The CAF U-17 Championship will take place in Tanzania during the month of April 2019.

Uganda is part of the eight African countries qualified for the youth championship whose four semi-finalists will qualify to play at the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Peru.

Recently, Uganda played an international friendly match with the Burundi U-20 team as part of the early preparations.

Up next in line is a training camp in Antalya, Turkey where a couple of matches will be played to prepare the young players.

Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) technical team has summoned a 30 man provisional team to kick start training sessions prior to the camp where they will also play an international tourney funded by UEFA.

The camp starts on Monday 18th February 2019 at the FUFA Technical centre while the one in Turkey will be held between 1st and 10th March.

All players have been selected from the FUFA Juniors League except defender Saul Kiddawalime from Super Cubs

FUFA Statement

Jackson Magera and Hamza Lutalo are the coaches in charge as the Federation gets set to name a head coach.

The players summoned: 

Goalkeepers: Oyo Delton (Kirinya Jinja SS FC), Jack Komaketch (Ndejje University FC), Ssemwogerere Daniel (Bright Stars FC) and Sinalya Ben (Express FC)

Rest of  the Squad: Kevin Ssekimbegga (Express FC), Ibrahim Juma (KCCA FC), Kasozi Samson (Bright Stars FC), Kizito Mugweri Gavin (Vipers SC), John Rogers (Onduparaka FC), Kiddawalime Saul (Super Cubs), Wasswanga Shafik (Ndejje University FC), Opira Innocent (Ndejje University), Ekellot Ibrahim (KCCA FC), Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC), Ziraba Ronnie (Express FC), Kakaire Thomas (Bright Stars FC), Mwaka Polycarp (Kirinya Jinja SS FC), Opaala Edwine Mukisa (Kirinya Jinja SS FC), John Kokas Alou (URA FC), Mukisa Owen (BUL FC), Jarieko James (Paidha Black Angels FC), Asaba Ivan (Vipers SC), Surundu Ibrahim (KCCA FC), Najib Yiga (Vipers SC), Yasin Abdu Owane (Vipers SC), Mugulusi Isma (Kirinya Jinja SS FC), Lubega Derrick (Express FC), Mugisha Rogers (Mbarara City FC), Abdul Wahid Iddi (Onduparaka FC), Kakande Shafic (Bright Stars FC).

Team Officials

  • Magera Jackson (1st Assistant coach)
  • Hamuza Lutalo (2nd Assistant coach)
  • Mubarak Kiberu (Goalkeeper coach)
  • Emmanuel Nakabago (Team Doctor)
  • Bashir Mutyaba (Team Manager)
  • Bumpenje Frank (Kit Manager)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Join the Conversation


Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think