Credit: Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE
Cameroon players lift AFCON 2017 trophy. They eye a successful title defence (Photo: Aisha Nakato) Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

32nd Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON):

  • 19th June – 19th July 2019
  • Host Country: Egypt (Cairo International Stadium, Air Force Stadium, Port Said Stadium, Ismailia Stadium, Suez Sport Stadium, Alexandria Stadium)

When the groups of the 2019 African Cup of Nations tournament were made and confirmed on Friday night at the historical Giza in Egypt, one group, caught the attention of many.

Group F has all the four countries hailing from West Africa.

Top seed and defending champions Cameroon were drawn alongside four time AFCON winners Ghana, dark horses Benin and Guinea Bissau.

This is arguably the group of death given the potentiality for each of the four countries.

There is pedigree and pride as well, at stake as each of the four countries take on each other.

Cameroon has five titles (1984, 1988, 2000, 2002 and 2017) and therefore envisage the 2019 edition as yet another plat form to add to their cabinet.

Ghana has won it four times in 1963, 1965, 1978 and 1982.

The Black Stars are working toothless to win yet any silverware in over 37 years.

Benin and Guinea Bissau seem out-siders on paper, but you can dismiss them at your own peril.

By the current FIFA Ranking, Ghana is best rated in group F, with a ranking of 49th.

Cameroon is 54th as Benin lies 91st and Guinea Bissau is 118th.

The rest of the groups are equally balanced regionally.

Hosts and record winners Egypt are in group A alongside the 1968 and 1974 AFCON winners DR Congo, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar and Burundi are housed in group B.

Group C has Senegal, Algeria and two East African countries – Kenya and Tanzania.

Morocco, Cote D’Ivoire, South Africa and Namibia complete group D.

Tunisia, Mali, first timers Mauritania and Southern Africa country Angola make up group E.

Egypt will use six stadia to host this biennial championship.

Cairo International Stadium, Air Force Stadium, Port Said Stadium, Ismailia Stadium, Suez Sport Stadium and Alexandria Stadium will be used.

For the first time since inception in 1954, the highest number of countries (24) will compete at the month long championship.

There are 6 groups with 4 countries each.

The two best countries per group with the overall best runners up will qualify for the round


  • A:  Egypt, DR Congo, Uganda, Zimbabwe
  • B:  Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi
  • C: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania
  • D: Morocco, Cote D’Voire, South Africa, Namibia
  • E: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola
  • F: Cameroon, Ghana, Benin, Guinea Bissau

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply