With less than a month left to the Africa T20 tournament due in May, Uganda Cricket officially launched the local organising committee of the tournament.

The African showpiece that will involve the six nations: Kenya, Ghana, Nigeria, Botswana, Namibia and Uganda will take place from May 17-24.

The final round of African qualifiers will involve regional winners and runner ups as they fight for only two spots to qualify for the global qualifiers later this year in the UAE.

Uganda was chosen as hosts for the tournament last year and on the back of hosting a successful Division 2 World Cricket League in 2017, they are certain not to disappoint as host.

The local organising committee led by event guru Paul Kaheru will be tasked with ensuring Uganda hosts an incident-free tournament.

The participating teams will be arriving on May 17th in the country and they will be residing at Kabira Country Club.

All 15 games will be played at Lugogo and Kyambogo Cricket Ovals and all will be played on T20 basis.

Over 50 volunteers have been lined up to help with the tournament and UCA is leaving no stone unturned in order to deliver a wonderful tournament.

Paul Kaheru hinted that this time around they want to improve the fan experience for those who will be coming to watch the games with those that won’t be able to go to Lugogo or Kyambogo watching the action via a live stream.

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think