Lady Cricket Cranes team for Africa T20 World Cup Qualifiers

Barbara Mukankusi will have to wait a little longer to make her return to international cricket as she missed out on the final 14 for the Africa World Cup T20 ladies qualifiers slated for next month.

The former Lady Cricket Cranes captain missed most of the cricket season due to maternity but she had impressed selectors with her performances for her club since her return but with stiff competition for the batting slots she misses out to her younger compatriots. She could only make the final 16 as a reserve and unless calamity falls any of the 14, she won’t be on the plane to Zimbabwe.

The squad announced last evening is unchanged from the players who took part in the Victoria Series despite most of the players having below-par performances during the tournament.

Team Captain Kevin Awino was in the spotlight during the Victoria Series with her place in the team questioned but the selectors have kept faith in her for the all-important tournament. She will lead the side with Janet Mbabazi as her vice.

The Lady Cricket Cranes carry the tag of African Champions to Zimbabwe but the home side will be looking at reclaiming what they think belongs to them.

Zimbabwe swept side both Uganda and Kenya in the Victoria Series winning the tournament unbeaten and that was a sign of their intent ahead of the qualifiers.

The team has 10 players who were part of the victorious team two years ago in Namibia. Damalie Busingye, Sarah Walaza, Evelyn Anyipo and Maria Kagoya are the newcomers.

The experience of 2017 MVP Gertrude Candiru and opening bowler Carol Namugenyi is missing due to work commitments for both but the new technical bench of Micheal Grace Ndiko and Habib Mugalula will have to make use of what they have.

The team will leave Kampala on May 3 ahead of the tournament that will run from May 5-13.

Full Squad

  1. Kevin Awino (Captain/Wicketkeeper)
  2. Janet Mbabazi (Vice Captain/Allrounder)
  3. Immaculate Nakisuyoi – Allrounder
  4. Rachel Ntono – Batsman
  5. Damalie Busingye – Batsman
  6. Naomi Kayondo – Batsman
  7. Rita Musamali – Allrounder
  8. Stephanie Nampiina – Allrounder
  9. Joyce Mary Apio – Bowler
  10. Evelyn Anyipo – Bowler
  11. Consy Aweko – Bowler
  12. Franklyn Najjumba – Allrounder
  13. Sarah Walaza – Bowler
  14. Maria Kagoya – Wicketkeeper

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply