© Kawowo Sports | ISABIRYE Coke officials carry aloft the trophy that was won by Buddo S.S in Mbarara (2018).

The Copa Coca cola football championship remains one of the most prestigious youth and schools sports competitions.

Over the years, when the idea of playing organizing this secondary schools football championship was mooted, the god-fathers had a genuine cause.

First played in 1986 as the Uganda Television Cup (UTV), the tournament spread wings and became the National Post Primary (NPP) in 1993 when the National Council of Sports (NCS) picked interest and started funding it fully.

From 1996 to 2007, Coca Cola took over and it was rebranded as the Coca Cola Cup before being remained as Copa Coca Cola from 2008 todate.

Across this period, a number of outspoken football stars in the country have been given the plat form to get their talents exposed by this tournament.

Players of varying generations graduated from the copa championship to local and international clubs and many have featured for the Uganda Premier League club, the national under age teams as well as the senior national team – Uganda Cranes.

Franklin Kaweru | Kawowo Sports KCCA and Uganda Cranes Legend Jackson ‘Mia-Mia’ Mayanja also started at Kololo S.S in the Secondary Schools football competition

Players as Jackson Mayanja, Nsimbe, Lonyesi Angelo, Fred Tamale were household names at Kololo S.S team that won the tournament first three trophies (1986, 1987 and 1988).

Hundreds of thousands for players owe their original and prominence to this championship.

Goal.com David Obua was a darling during this championship as well

Outspoken names as Mujib Kasule, David Obua, Michael Azira, Denis Iguma, Steven Bengo, Silver Ochaya, Zakariya Lubega, Aloyosious Lubega, Bernard Okong, Sulaiman Tenywa, Vivine Baku, Alex Aliga, David Kalungi, Edward Kalungi, Alex Isabirye, Nimrod Kintu, Noah Kasule Babadi, Richard Malinga, Mathias Lule, and others are some of the players from the late 90’s.

© Kawowo Sports / DAVID ISABIRYE Allan Okello (left) and Wasswa at the 2017 Copa Championships in Masaka (Photo: David Isabirye)

The present generation has vivid products as Steven Bengo, Jeremiah Ssebuyira, Mathias Kigonya, Eddie Mubiru, Eric ‘Bucha’ Ssebuguzi, Faruku Miya, Yunus Sentamu, Kezironi Kizito, Pius Obuya, Allan Okello, Julius Poloto, Frank Ssebufu, Jeromy Kirya, Eric Kibowa, Eric Dhaira, Vincent Zziwa, Frank Iga, Frank Zagga Tumwesigye, Noordin Bunjo, Muhammed Shaban, Vitalis Tabu, Ali Gift, Fahad Bayo, Alfred Leku, Mike Mutyaba, Gadafi Wahabu, goalkeepers Seif Batte and James Alitho to the 2018 top scorer Lawrence Tezikywa and many others will live to be remembered for ages.

Kololo SSS was the first school to win this tournament in 1986 and went ahead to win the first treble between 1986 to 1988.

Kibuli also has a treble of titles (1991 to 1993) and St Mary’s SS Kitende has two trebles (2006-2008) as well as between 2011 to 2013.

Only St Leos Kyegobe (1997), Ngabo Academy (2001), Nagalama Islamic (2002), Bishop Nankyama (2010) and lately Jinja S.S (2017) are the only three schools to have won this championship away from the most dominant Kampala and Wakiso based schools.

Kibuli SS has a record 11 titles to their name tag, followed by St Mary’s SS, Kitende with 8.

Kololo SS has four championships (1986, 1987, 1988 and 1990).

Buddo SS and Lubiri and Old Kampala schools have two titles apiece.

The schools with one trophies apiece are; St Leo Kyegobe, Jinja S.S, Ngabo Academy, Nagalama Islamic

The tournament is played by students under the age of 20 years.

Previous Winners since 1986:

  • 2018: Buddo S.S (Host: Mbarara, Mbarara High)
  • 2017: Jinja S.S (Host: Masaka, Masaka SS)
  • 2016: Kibuli SS (Host: Soroti, Teso College Aloet)
  • 2015: St Mary’s Kitende (Host: Hoima, Duhaga S.S)
  • 2014: Kibuli SS (Host: Gulu, St Joseph College, Layibi)
  • 2013: St Mary’s Kitende (Kabale, Kigezi College)
  • 2012: St Mary’s Kitende (Tororo, Rock High School)
  • 2011: St Mary’s Kitende (Arua, Mvara S.S)
  • 2010: Bishop Nankyama (Masaka, St Henry’s Kitovu)
  • 2009: Buddo S.S (Fort Portal, St Leo’s Kyegobe)
  • 2008: St Mary’s Kitende (Arua, Mvara SS) *Started as Copa Coca Cola Cup
  • 2007: St Mary’s Kitende (Host: Jinja, Jinja S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
  • 2006: St Mary’s Kitende (Host: Masindi, Kabalega SS) *Coca Cola Cup
  • 2005: Kibuli S.S (Host: Masaka, Masaka SS) *Coca Cola
  • 2004: St Mary’s Kitende (Host: Mbarara – Ntare School) *Coca Cola Cup
  • 2003: Old Kampala (Host: Lira, Lango College) *Coca Cola Cup
  • 2002: Nagalama Islamic (Host: Soroti, Teso College, Aloet) * Coca Cola Cup
  • 2001: Ngabo Academy (Host: Kabale, Kabale S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
  • 2000: Kibuli (Host: Mbale, Mbale S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
  • 1999: Old Kampala (Host: Masindi, Kabalega S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
  • 1998: Kibuli (Host: Jinja, Jinja S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
  • 1997: St Leo’s Kyegobe (Host: Mbarara, Mbarara High) *Coca Cola Cup
  • 1996: Kibuli (Host: Masaka, Masaka SS) *Started as Coca Cola Cup
  • 1995: Kibuli (Host: Mbale, Mbale SS) *NPP Cup
  • 1994: Lubiri S.S (Host: Lira, Lango College) *NPP Cup
  • 1993: Kibuli S.S (Host:  Mbarara, Ntare School) *NPP Cup
  • 1992: Kibuli SS (Host: Kampala, Kibuli SS) * UTV Cup
  • 1991: Kibuli S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
  • 1990: Kololo S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
  • 1989: Kibuli S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
  • 1988: Kololo (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
  • 1987: Kololo S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
  • 1986: Kololo S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here