Peace Cup 2019 (1st Round, 2nd Leg):

  • Rayon Sports 0-1 AS Kigali (Agg. 1-1, Pen: 4-2)
  • Unity  0-2 Mukura Victory (Agg. 0-5)
  • Intare 1-1 Interforce FC (Agg. 4-1)
  • Gasogi 1-0 Hope (Agg. 3-2)

Rayon Sports’ hopes of their first ever domestic double are much alive.

The reigning Rwanda Premier League champions progressed to the 2019 Peace Cup second round in Rwanda after a nail biting 4-2 post match penalties victory over rivals AS Kigali at Kigali Regional Stadium, Nyamirambo on Friday.

AS Kigali won the return leg 1-0 to equalize the aggregate scores one all and force the shoot out.

Midfielder Janvier Benedata scored the lone goal in the 26th minute.

It necessitated solid defending and full alertness by AS Kigali Ugandan born goalkeeper Shamiru Batte who on countless occasions denied Michael Sarpong, Gilbert Mugisha and Suleiman Mudeyi.

Shamiru Batte had a busy and decent day at office during normal time (Photo: New Times)

Sarpong, Christophe Bukuru, Djabel Manishimwe and Prosper Donkor all beat Batte in the shoot out.

Goalkeeper Batte was beaten four times in the shoot out (Photo: Igihe)

AS Kigali’s skipper Tumaine ‘Titi’ Ntamuhanga and Fabrice Nininahazwe scored.

Ugandan born striker Frank “Machette” Kalanda and Latif Bishira were denied by goalkeeper Gerard Bikorimana, a third choice goalkeeper at Rayon Sports.

APR players carry aloft their heroic goalkeeper Barikomana (Photo: New Times)

Meanwhile, more round one matches continue on Saturday, 8th June 2019 with the respective second legs.

Giants APR carry a 2-0 lead ahead of the return leg with Rwamagana.

Police is at home against Gicumbi, Etincelles visits Marines, Bugesera will play Vision and Kiyovu will battle Etoile de l’Est.

The winner of the Peace Cup qualifies to represent Rwanda in the CAF Confederation Cup.

Ugandan born turned Rwandese Farouk Ssentongo is at AS Kigali (Photo: New Times)
Frank Kalanda during the limbering session (Photo: Igihe)

Team Line Ups:

Rayon Sports XI: Gerard Bikorimana (G.K), Thierry Manzi, Eric Irambona, Ange Mutsinzi, Prosper Donkor, Hussein Habimana, Eric Iradukunda, Bukuru Christophe, Suleiman Mudeyi, Gilbert Mugisha, Djabel Manishimwe

Head Coach: Wagner do Nascimento

Rayon Sports XI (Photo: Igihe)

AS Kigali XI: Shamiru Batte, Ntamuhanga Tumaine, Niyomugabo Claude, Rurangwa Mossi, Latif Bishira, Janvier Benedata, Marc Govin Nshimiyimana, Farouq Saifi Ssentongo, Nova Bayama, Frank Kalanda, Cyitegetse Bogard

Head coach: Mateso Jean De Dieu

AS Kigali (Photo: Igihe)

Saturday Matches:

Police Vs  Gicumbi

Bugesera  Vs Vision

Rwamagana    Vs  APR

Kiyovu   Vs Etoile de l’Est

Etincelles   Vs  Marines


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here