Gomba Officials receive their team kit prior to the kick off of the 2019 season

Kabaka’s chief head in charge of Gomba Ssaza Kitunzi Musisi Jackson Celestino has confirmed a 32 man tried and tested management team prior to the long awaited kick off for the 2020 Airtel Masaza Cup.

In his powers, Kitunzi Musisi believes the team appointed will deliver to the best of their expectations and deliver the Lions, as the football team is christened to their 5th triumph.

This follows the earlier success scripts in 2004, 2007, 2014 and lately 2017.

Team Gomba receive their Airtel branded jerseys in the 2019 season

Sam Rwakoojo, the secretary of the Electoral Commission is the team patron.

He will work under an experienced management team led by the chairman Mansoor Kabugo.

Kabugo, who will be deputized by Gerald Byansi has promised to build a strong working team with every stake holder from the sponsors, players, technical team, other officials on the team, fans and the media.


Mansoor Kabugo, Chairman Gomba Ssaza team
Mansoor Kabugo, Chairman Gomba Ssaza team

Other officials:

The team manager is Kalule Jafari. Hon Robina Rwakoojjo is the treasurer and will be assisted by Rogers Yiga.

Robert Barigye is the secretary as Kawowo Sports’ David Isabirye is head of media.

Mohammed Ssali is vice media, Musoka Bashir Nsubuga in charge of stadium, Eric Tusabe (security coordinator), Rev. Wilberforce Ssekasiko (Head of Protocol), Latif Lubega (team Coordinator), Kalebu Sonko (welfare), Aminah Nabiddo (Assistant Welfare), Isa Ssemanda (Transport Coordinator).

The members on the executive committee are Joseph Sserwada, Nakasita Aminah Biru and Eriab Kamya.

Gomba Officials receive their team kit prior to the kick off of the 2019 season

Gomba has won the Masaza cup a record four times in 2004, 2007, 2014 and lately 2017.

The Masaza cup tournament is famous for luring huge crowds and producing the best talents who are later recruited by FUFA Big League, Uganda Premier League and the national teams as well.

Bulemeezi is the defending champion.

The appointed Management team:

Patron: Sam Rwakoojjo

Chairman: Mansoor Kabugo

Vice Chairman: Gerald Byansi

Team Manager: Jafari Kalule

Treasurer: Hon. Robina Rwakoojjo

Vice Treasurer: Rogers Yiga

Secretary: Robert Barigye

Head of Media: David Isabirye

Vice Media: Mohammed Ssali

Stadium Manager: Bashir Musoke Nsubuga

Security Coordinator: Eric Tusabe

Head of Protocol: Rev. Wilberforce Ssekasiko

Team Coordinator: Latif Lubega

Welfare: Kalebu Sonko

Assistant Welfare: Aminah Nabiddo

Transport Coordinator: Isa Ssemanda

Members on Executive Committee: Joseph Sserwada, Nakasita Aminah Biru, Eriab Kamya

Technical committee:

Technical committee

  • Chairman – Felix Ssekabuza
  • Head coach – Ibrahim Kirya
  • Assistant coach – Kizito Dennis
  • Goalkeeper coach – Kiberu Mubarak
  • Vice medical – Ssali Mohammed
  • Kits Man – Ssebalya Herbert
  • Member Technical Committee – Ssekamate Leo

2019: Bulemeezi
2018: Singo
2017: Gomba
2016: Buddu
2015: Singo
2014: Gomba
2013: Mawokota
2012: Bulemeezi
2011: Buluri
2010: Not Held
2009: Gomba
2008: Kyadondo
2007: Mawokota
2006: Kooki
2005: Mawokota
2004: Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply