Credit: Frank Omeno

Duncan Mubiru and Musa Nsubuga can now celebrate their SMC Challenge Rally victory after the Stewards verdict on Tuesday approved the rally results. 

‘Kikankane’s victory was prolonged after the event results were held following investigations into possible infringements by crews in speed zones set up in the rally. Crews were to drive at less than 35km/hr within the zone. 

Duncan Mubiru and Musa Nsubuga

The Stewards agreed to suspend the speed zones and retain the provisional results. 

“The availed reports from the tracking provider revealed a lot of inconsistent, unreliable, and missing information.

“The tracking company did not  activate tracking for several crews due to MTN related issues.

“The above phenomenon makes their data and information unreliable to arrive at a logical conclusion in the determination of the speeds at those zones,” reads the bulletin from the Stewards.

Mubiru and Nsubuga now go top of the NRC leaderboard with 190 points from three events.

“The decision is not a surprise to me because that is how it was supposed to be . 

“As of the championship, my focus is not on that at the moment. We are focusing on bigger events like Equator and Safari Rally. 

“But we shall take it event by event and see what happens,” said Mubiru. 

Jas Mangat who was coming out of a sabbatical took second position; 24 seconds behind rally leader Mubiru.

Hassan Alwi finished third with Abdul Kateete and Omar Mayanja sealing the top five positions in fourth and fifth respectively.

Fred Busulwa finished sixth. He drops to second in the championship with 175 points.

Edward Kirumira lead the two-wheel drive category followed by Ibrahim Lubega.

Top five NRC Drivers’ Standings

  1. Duncan Mubiru       190points
  2. Fred Busulwa          175
  3. Hassan alwi             170
  4. Omar Mayanja         140
  5. Abdul Katete           105

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think