H.E Hon. Kiema Kilonzo, Kenyan High Commissioner to Uganda had a meeting with Mr Blick (Zone V President) and Mr Paul Tergat OLY, President NOC Kenya at the Best Western Premier Garden Hotel Entebbe

The lavish and tranquil five star Best Western Premier Garden Hotel in Entebbe is a bee-hive of activity prior to the ANOCA Zone V elective assembly in the Lake Victoria peninsular town.

For starters, the elective assembly will be held at the aforementioned premises on Saturday, 1st May 2021.

Hosts Uganda will be joined by other members; Burundi, Egypt, Kenya, Rwanda, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania as well as the horn of Africa states; Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia

A number of delegates have already checked in at the hotel with several planning meetings conducted.

Ranking aloft the agenda on the assembly will be the eagerly awaited item of elections for the next tenure in office.

The out-going executive committee has William Frederick Blick (President), Egyptian Gaser Raid (vice president), Kenya’s Paul Francis (Secretary General), Rashid Gulam from Tanzania (Treasurer) with two executive board members; South Sudan’s Eng. Juma Stephen Lugga Lemi and Sudan’s Hussam Hashim Khojaly.

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) members in the region are IOC Honoray members General Mounir Sabet (Egypt) and Kenya’s Keino Kipchoge with Burundian iron lady Lydia Nsekera, Paul Tergat (Kenya), Dagmawit Berhane (Ethiopia), Felicite Rwemerika (Rwanda) and the host Blick.

Before the assembly proper, there are series of planning and preparatory meetings.

On Friday, 30 April 2021, delegates will convene with the first lady who is also the Minister of Education and Sports Janet Kataha Museveni at Entebbe State House as well as a special meeting with the Minister of State for Sports Hon. Dennis Hamson Obua.

William Frederick Blick, the out-going ANOCA Zone V President

Election Agenda:

With Blick not returning as president, the contest remains between Dr. Weldegiorgis Ashebir (Ethiopia) against Engineer Elerian Sharif (Egypt).

For the treasurer spot, incumbent Gulam Rashid (Tanzania) will battle Dr.Deran Tong Chor Malek.

The three committee member slots are up for grabs with the competition between Alexis Sharangabo (Rwanda), Luul Fisshehaye (Eritrea), Mohamed Abdou (Somalia) and Salvator Bigirimana (Burundi).


Kenya’s Francis Mutuku returns as Secretary General unchallenged and so is the vice president; Hussam Hashim Khojaly.

Each country has a single vote to cast with Dr. Donald Rukare carrying the mantle for Uganda.

Rukare is the new president of Uganda Olympic Committee (UOC) as well as the chairman of the National Council of Sports (NCS).

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think