The qualifying phase to this year’s edition of Women’s Africa Cup of Nations successfully came to an end on Wednesday with teams securing their slots.

All the 12 teams including hosts Morocco are now confirmed. Record Champions Nigeria and Cameroon qualified for a record 12th time.

There are four debutants at this year’s edition and these include Burundi, Burkina Faso, Botswana and Togo.

Uganda was the first team to qualify, following the withdrawal of Kenya from the Qualifiers last month.

The decision granted the Crested Cranes a berth at the coveted tournament for the second time, having made their debut in 2000.

Burundi earned their first appearance at the tournament after overcoming Djibouti 11-1 on aggregate.This therefore means East Africa will be represented by two countries.

Indomitable Lions of Cameroon found no trouble in dispatching The Gambia, winning the contest 10-1 on aggregate.

Nigeria who had won the first leg 2-0 against Ivory Coast, completed a double with a 1-0 win in Abidjan thanks to Esther Okoronkwo’s goal.

Botswana despite losing 2-0 at home in Francistown, secured a ticket to Morocco. They had won the first leg in Harare 3-1 and thus qualified on away goals’ rule.

Zambia edged Namibia 1-1 on aggregate, Togo overcame Gabon 4-2 on aggregate while Tunisia dispatched two time winners Equatorial Guinea.

Qualified Teams
1. Morocco (Hosts)
2. Uganda
3. Burundi
4. Zambia
5. Senegal
6. Togo
7. Tunisia
8. Burkina Fas

9. Botswana
10. Nigeria
11. Cameroon

12. South Africa

The continental showpiece is scheduled to take place in Morocco between 2-23 July 2022.

The tournament doubles as the African Qualifiers for the World Cup 2023 in Australia and New Zealand. The top four teams at the AWCON will qualify for the World Cup.

Joel Muyita

Joel Muyita is a senior staff writer at Kawowo Sports.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply