Challengers got off the mark in the men’s 50-over league with a solid 265-run win over a helpless SKLPS.

Challengers went down to Ceylon Lions in their opening game of the season despite having a great side to make sure they can dislodge Damani from winning the title for the fourth season in a row.

Challengers won the toss and elected to bat first at the Lakeside Oval in Entebbe. Despite losing Wasim Butt and Emmanuel Hasakya early, Frank Akankwasa (130) and Zephaniah Arinaitwe (62) shared a 138 run partnership to get the innings together.

The loss of Zephaniah didn’t stop the run-scoring as Mohammed Azeem Khan (42) shared a 92 run stand with Akankwasa to help Challengers post 325/7.

Cosmas Kyewuta (5/21) ripped through the SKLPS batting lineup to ensure the win for Challengers.

It’s was Challengers’ first win of the season and one that is no surprise. For SKLPS, the loss is their second of the season and keeps them at the bottom of the top-flight table.

At Lugogo Cricket Oval, Nyakasura did just enough to make sure they go past fellow students Jinja SSS.

Jinja SSS won the toss and elected to field first and they quickly got stuck in picking two quick wickets but Pascal Murungi (53) and Fortunate Alijuna (93) rescued the innings for Nyakasura as they posted 216 all out. Jinja SSS couldn’t find answers for Joseph Baguma (4/11) as Nyakasura was able to pick up an 80 run win.

In Kyambogo, Aziz Damani Development took Premier to school with a comprehensive 146-run win. Derrick Bakunzi (65) anchored the innings for Damani with a lot of contributions with the bat throughout the whole team.

Yunus Sowobi (4/24) and Ismail Munir (3/31) caused the most damage with the ball for Damani as Premier was cleaned up for just 136.

Match Summaries

Nyakasura v Jinja SSS
Nyakasura 216
Jinja SSS 136
Nyakasura won by 80 runs

Aziz Damani Development v Premier
Aziz Damani Development 282/9
Premier 136/9
Aziz Damani Development won by 146 runs.

Challengers v SKLPS
Challengers 325/7
SKLPS 60/9
Challengers won by 265 runs.

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply