The Water Falls T20 League Men’s Edition

Game 5: Bujjagali Rafters v Sipi Trekkers
Bujjagali Rafters 122/8
Sipi Trekkers: 123/4
Sipi Trekkers won by 6 wickets
Player of the Match: Ssesazi Simon
Full Match Scorecard:

Game 6: Itanda Kayakers v Bujjagali Rafters
Bujjagali Rafters 155
Itanda Kayakers 156/4
Itanda Kayakers won by 6 wickets
Full Match Scorecard:
Man of Match: Riazat Ali Shah

FINAL: Bujjagali Rafters v Itanda Kayakers – 13:30

Riazat Ali Shah has struggled for runs in the Waterfalls T20 League but on Saturday afternoon he showed up at a time his time needed him the most. He entered the fray when they were railing at 12/4 but he scored an unbeaten 90 off 57 balls to put the Itanda Kayakers in the final.

Bujjagali Rafters made sure the record for teams losing both their games on doubleheader days continued as they went down by 7 wickets against the Sipi Trekkers in the morning and then lost by 7 wickets in the afternoon against Itanda Trekkers.

Matchday 3 saw two half-centuries being scored by Simon Ssesazi (75 not out) for the Sipi Trekkers in the 6-wicket win to pick up their second of the tournament that momentarily put them in second place. They had an outside chance of making the final if Bujjagali could do them a favour.

Bujjagali Rafters batted first in the afternoon and posted a competitive 155 in their 20 overs. Itanda Kayakers needed something special for them to overhaul that total and cometh the moment cometh the man, Riazat Ali Shah leading from the front with a captain’s knock that made sure they make the final ton Sunday afternoon.

Bujjagalai Rafters were guilty of putting down chances as both Riazat Ali Sha and Pascal Murungi rode their luck deep into the match as they both ensured the result was in favour of Bujjagali Rafters.

In the end, it was an entertaining clash that kept all the fans on their feet to set up a final between the same sides tomorrow afternoon.

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply