Victoria Pearls lift the 2023 Victoria Series Trophy

Uganda was able to do enough during the round-robin stages of the tournament to earn themselves the Victoria Series trophy.

The persistent rain denied an optimistic crowd a chance of watching what should have been a great finale.

Tanzania came into the game on the back of two back-to-back losses and needed to make amends for those two losses while Uganda was the only team not to drop a point during the round-robin games.

The rain was supreme on the final day with Uganda the major benefactor taking the title because of the fact that they were the top side at the end of the round-robin stage.

In the end a case of what might have been of either side with Tanzania very determined to make sure they make amends for losing to the hosts during the round-robin format.

In the individual awards, Kavisha Kumari of the UAE took the best batter award, Consy Aweko won the best bowler award and Henriette Therese Ishimwe took the MVP award.

The weather was unkind for the last days of what has been a fantastic advertisement for women’s cricket.

The favourites UAE found the going tough in Kampala finishing in 3rd place after dropping points against Uganda and Tanzania.

Rwanda the lowest rank, go home with two wins in the bag against teams that ranked higher both Kenya and Tanzania as their victims, gathering some valuable T20 ranking points.

Kenya finished bottom of the log, they lost their captain Sharon Juma and they go back home with a lot more questions than answers for a team in transition.

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think