One of Uganda’s representatives in the 24th Edition of the East and Central Africa Handball Championships, Prisons Handball club (men) have arrived safely in the Kenyan Capital, Nairobi, ahead of the regional meet at Nyayo Indoor Stadium that starts from November 4-10.

Led by the Prisons Senior Superintendent of Prisons, Baker Asinga, the 16 man contingent arrived safely in Nairobi on Sunday evening. “We have come to challenge and win the trophy”, vowed the teams’s head coach, Bernard Oyene, in an exclusive interview with Kawowo Sports.

Kenya National Cereals and Produce Board who are champions in both categories (men and women) will be defending their titles they won last year in Dar es Salaam.

Eight teams from Kenya have so far confirmed participation in the regional competition with Defence Forces side Ulinzi opting to stay away from the tournament, while Glorious Handball Club are yet to confirm their participation.

There will be no gate charges to gain entry to the court which will be played at the Nyayo handball court, according to Kenyan Handball Federation. The teams expected to compete in the regional tournament are: Police (men and women), Lubumbashi, Ruew-Kinshasa all from the Democratic Republic of Congo

Others are Rwanda Police (men- also travelling to Morocco for Africa Club Championship), Ethiopia Police (men and women), Tanzania’s Magereza (men and women), Ngome (women), JKT (men and women), Dodoma (women). Zanzibar is yet to confirm which team will travel to Nairobi for the tournament.

Other teams with the countries they come from in bracket are Prisons and Nkumba University Tonardos (Uganda), :Cereals Board (men and women), Nairobi Water (women), Strathmore University (men), St. John’s sport community (women), Kenyatta University (men), Black Mamba (men) and Kenya Polytechnic (Kenya).

The Entire Traveling Prisons Contingent:

Kalibala Robert and Ssempira Mich (Goalkeepers), Isamat Anthony (Captain), Kongo Ibrahim, Wandera Richard, Luzinda Geofrey, Osujje Lawrence, Atona Stanely, Otuka Simon, Obulu Jimmy, Odongo George, Owori Richard, Agotuku Gerald, Samson Okiriror and Ojok Gilbert.

Baker Asinga (SSP)-Head of Delegation

Rodrick Muhumuza  (Team Manager)

Roken Kalanzi  (Ist Assistant)

Bernard Oyene  (Head Coach)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think