March 24
World Cross Country Championships, Poland

Four-time Ugandan cross country champion, Moses Kipsiro Ndiema will lead team Uganda to the 40th world Cross country championships due on March 24th in Bydgoszcz, Poland.

Uganda Athletics Federation has named a national team of 18 athletes and one official to represent the country in the Polish city of Bydgoszcz, that also organised the inaugural IAAF World Youth Championships in 1999,  the 2008 World Junior Championships and most recently last year’s World Cross Country Championships.

The team, that comprises of five senior and four junior ladies plus four junior and five senior men has been in a residential camp in Bukwo for close to a month.

“We expect the best out of this well tuned team”, said the Athletics Federation Publicist, Namayo Mawerere.

The team departs for Poland on Thursday at midday after an official flag off at the National Council of Sports.

1 Cheptegei  Nancy (UPDF)

2. Chemutai Phanise (Elgon)

3. Chesang Stella (Alpha)

4. Chebet Racheal Zanna (Alpha)


1.       Chemos Viola (Arua)

2.       Chekwel Juliet (UPDF)

3.       Totoitich Linet (Standard)

4.       Cheptegei Rebecca (UPDF)

5.       Achola Janet (Prisons)


1.       Cherop Michael (Police)

2.       Kurong Moses (Police)

3.       Cherop Alex (Police)

4.       Mande Abdalla (Police)


1.       Kipsiro Moses (Elgon)

2.       Kiplimo Philip (Prisons)

3.       Arapsudi Fred (Police)

4.       Toroitich Timothy (Elgon)

5.       Kusuro Geofrey (Arua)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think