CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup:

Nov 27th – Dec 12, 2013

Kenya (Nairobi, Kisumu,Mumias, Nakuru)

CECAFA local organizing committee has revealed that 4 different Stadia will be used in the up coming Council of East and Central Africa (CECAFA) Senior Challenge Cup slated to run from November 27th through to December 2013 in Kenya.

Three Western Kenya Cities of Mumias, Kisumu, Nakuru and the capital, Nairobi are the four ear marked to host Africa’s oldest football tournament, first played in 1926.

“Nairobi, Kisumu artificial turf arena, Mumias Sports Complex and Nakuru Stadium will host the perennial regional tourney” Kenya FA President Sam Nyamweya revealed In a Tuesday Nairobi press conference as quoted by goal.com.

He stated that Mombasa may host some of the matches but its availability was still a strong subject of consultations and debates.

Cecafa Secretary General Nicholas Musonye, Senator Mike ‘Sonko’ Mbuvi, senior government officials as well Gabriel Komora, who is the acting Chief Executive officer of the Sports Stadia Management Board, all attended the press conference.

Kenya will be privileged to host the Fifa 2014 World Cup trophy at the opening ceremony for the regional tournament on November 27 that will also be graced CAF President Isa Hayatou.

12 Countries to include Milutin Micho Sedrojevic‘s  Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, Rwanda, Zanzibar, Sudan, Djibouti, Somalia, Eritrea, Ethiopia, South Sudan and hosts Kenya have already confirmed participation.

For the guest team in the Tourney, three nations have been targeted to be invited a West African opposition, Ivory Coast, Central African Malawi (who were called in last year for the Kampala edition) and Zambia have been written to and the committee only awaits confirmation.

This year’s event will coincides with Kenya’s 50 years of Independence celebrations thus dubbed as ‘Kenya at 50’. The tournament will be covered live courtesy of Super-Sports beaming the matches across the African continent while partnering with KBC as the host broadcaster.


CECAFA was founded unofficially in 1926. The competition was sponsored by the major Nairobi-based soap-manufacturing firm Gossage, owned by the British Lever Brothers. Its formation is often attributed to William Gossage, founder of the Gossage company. However, he died 50 years before the CECAFA was established.

The tournament was known as the “Gossage Cup” until the mid-sixties, when it was re-dubbed the “East African Challenge Cup”, and was until last year called the Tusker Challenge Cup. The contract with East African Breweries expired and the local organizing team is in a rush against time to secure atleast Ksh. 60 Million to help with the 2013 Organizational set – up.

CECAFA’s head offices are in Nairobi, Kenya. The first tournament was contested between Kenya and Uganda, which saw the Kenyan squad win the two legs 3-1 on aggregate.

Record Winners:

Uganda, the record CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup winners with an overwhelming 13 Titles, having won the last edition in 2012 on home turf at Namboole National Stadium . Uganda won in  1973, 1976, 1977, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1996, 1996, 2000, 2003, 2008, 2009, 2011 and lately in 2013, after beating Kenya 2-1 in a tense final.

Kenya have 5 CECAFA titles to boast about having won the championship in 1971, 1981, 1982, 1983 and 2002, while Sudan (1980, 2006 and 2007), Malawi (1978, 1979 and 1988) and Tanzania (1974, 1994 and 2001) have won the historic tournament 3 times apiece. Zambia (1984 and 1991) and Zimbabwe (1985), who shifted to the COSAFA regional tournament have won the annual tourney twice and once respectively. Zanzibar (1995), Rwanda (1999) and Zanzibar (1995) have won the it only once.


Despite falling from 78th to 81st on the latest FIFA rankings, Uganda currently is the best placed country in the entire CECAFA region. Currently placed on number 81, Uganda on 457 points is miles and miles head of 205th ranked South Sudan which has a mere 11 points. South Sudan is one of the latest FIFA members having

Uganda – 81st (457 Points)

Ethiopia – 93rd (386 Points)

Kenya – 118th (271 Points)

Burundi – 124th (256 Points)

Tanzania – 127th (239 Points)

Rwanda – 131st (233 Points)

Sudan – 140th (204 Points)

Eritrea – 195th (24 Points)

Somalia -201st (14 Points)

Djibouti – 203rd (11 Points)

South Sudan – 205 (10 Points)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think