3rd – 6th January 2014:

Rwabushenyi Chess Tournament

At Hotel Africana

Hotel Africana will be a bee hive of Chess activity as the annual Cyril Rwabushenyi Memorial Chess Tournament takes center stage from the 3rd to 6th January 2014.

Several local and regional Chess players from Kenya, Rwanda, and Tanzania are expected to brace this Civil Aviation Authority sponsored Rwabushenyi Memorial Chess Championship, the biggest and most prestigious chess tournament on the Ugandan chess calendar.

Civil Aviation Authority have sponsored the last three editions of the event in memory of their former Director Airports, Cyril Rwabushenyi who was an ardent Chess player and Chairman of the Federation from 1995 to 1998.

Juicy cash prizes are on stake for the top performers to the tune of over 5,000,000 and several trophies for the FIDE rated section (open catergory), the ladies, and the open section for the unrated section. The best rated player will smile home with 1,200,000 while the lady will pocket 600,000.

“The highly billed regional event is the biggest on the Uganda Chess Federation calendar and is this time expected to feature top players from Kenya, Rwanda and Tanzania among other countries in the region”, reads a statement from the Federation.

Several top Kenyan players including Ben Magana, Peter Gilruth, Hinga Githingi, Philipe Singe, Moses Andiwo, John Mukabi and Isaac Babu among others have already expressed interest in participating in the event to lock horns with the likes of Uganda’s shining stars in International Master Elijah Emojong, Fide Master Harold Wanyama, Harunah Nsubuga (the 2013 Zabasajja Memorial winner), Bob Bibasa, Patrick Kawuma, Arthur Ssegwanyi (2013 Kawuma Open winner) and Rajab Kamoga.

Burundi’s Wilfred Ntamatungiro has also confirmed participation in the event. Fide Master (F.M) Wanyama is the defending champion. Among the ladies to watch include Ritah Nsubuga, Ivy Amoko, Gorreti Anglokini and Christine Namaganda among others.

Over 100 players are expected to participate in the FIDE rated 8 round event that will feature 2 games per day based on the Swiss system. The event features two categories; an elite closed FIDE rated section comprising of rated players and only a few select top unrated, and an Open lower category featuring the bulk of unrated players.

The annual tournament comes at a time when chess players who missed last year’s event due to administrative problems, are more than eager to compete and win respective prizes.

There are cash prizes to win in both sections as follows:

FIDE Rated section (Open category)

1st  1,200,000/= + Trophy
2nd    600,000/=  + Trophy
3rd    300,000/= + Trophy
4th    200,000/=
5th    100,000/=

FIDE Rated section (Ladies)
1st  600,000/= +Trophy
2nd 400,000/= + Trophy
3rd 200,000/= + Trophy

Open Section for unrated players only
1st  500,000/= + Trophy
2nd 200,000/= + Trophy
Under 12 Boys  – Trophy
Under 12 Girls – Trophy

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply