Overlooking the tranquil Fort portal town, lies a hilly well mowed avalanche of over 40 hectares of land. On that land, over sits the beautiful Toro Golf Course in the rather silent Bukwali neighborhood.

A few foot marks decimate the green course that has faced the wrath of the long dry season. 

For the next 8 or so hours, the 9 hole golf course will be my duty station as I follow with a keen eye the proceedings at the 11th edition of the Venus golf tourney, an annual championship bankrolled by East Africa’s greatest tea brokers, Venus.

Noticeably, my eyes admire the beautiful Fort portal town envisaged from a distance and as I move along the course, I discover that fresh cemented seats have been fixed at different points in the course.

“Those seats and dust bins are a new development on the golf course. We actually plan to build new changing rooms for both genders at the club and another club kitchen”, Club Captain, Tony Othieno reveals as I approach him at the club house.

Toro Golf club on Saturday hosted the 11th edition of the Venus golf tournament that Kasese Artisan golfer, Robert Happy won after carding a 2 under – 68 score.

The club also launched the official ground breaking ceremony of the extension of the shower rooms and the Kitchen zone renovation.

“We are grateful to start this ground breaking event. On a positive note, Hima Cement has offered 40 bags of cement and members have contributed the materials and cash (Ug shs 8 M) and work takes immediate effect”, Robert Assimwe the club chairman said.

Toro Club, home of the legendary Basaliza a.k.a Muzee Kijana, an 89 year old golfer, who recently shone at the Smile Senior’s tourney will on March 8th hold their annual general meeting.

11th Venus Golf Tourney Top performers:

Overall Winner: Robert Happy (H/C 0) – 68 Gross

1st Runners up: George Kituku (H/C 4) – 73 Gross (Count back)

2nd Runners up: Adolf Muhumuza (H/C 2) – 73 Gross

Group A (H/C 6 – 12):
Winner: Jimmy Ategeka (H/C 8) – 80 Gross

1st Runners Up: Michael Alunga (H/C 6) – 82 Gross

2nd Runners UP: Robert Tusiime (H/C 8) – 86 Gross

Group B (H/C 13-18):

Winner: Herbert Kaihura 70 Nett

1st Runners up: Peter Robson 72 Nett

Group C (H/C 19-28):

 Winner: Billy Assimwe (H/C 22) – 72 Nett

1st Runners up: W. Kusemererwa (H/C 25) – 75 Nett


Winner Group A : Peace Kabasweka (H/C 15) – 81 Nett

1st Runners up: Betty Kageye Kieran (H/C 15) –  83 Nett

Winner Group B: Dani Renno  (H/C 21) -71 Nett

1st Runners up: Jill Pinda Birungi Akiki (H/C 24) – 75 Nett

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think