2016 Mapinduzi Cup: Finals – Wednesday, 13th January 2016

URA F.C Vs Mtibwa Sugar F.C – Amman Stadium, Zanzibar (8:00 p.m)

Semifinal Results:  

  • Yanga 1(3) – 1(4) URA FC
  • Simba S.C 0-1 Mtibwa Sugar F.C

Uganda’s representatives at the 2016 Mapinduzi Cup give a go at the $ 1000 top prize money as they play Mtibwa Sugar in the finals of the Mapinduzi peace cup on Wednesday, 13th January 2016.

This was after the impressive performance when they won two group games against JKU and Mtibwa Sugars; having lost one to Simba Sports Club.

In the semifinals, URA F.C overcame Tanzania side, Yanga 4-3 in a penalty shoot out that followed a one all draw.

Hamis Tambwe gave Yanga the lead before second half substitute Peter Lwasa made amends to force the game into post match penalties.

In the tense shoot out, goalkeeper Brian Bwete saved two penalties before converting the winner.

Other URA F.C players who scored their penalties were; Jimmy Kulaba, Saidi Kyeyune and Deo Othieno successfully scored past goalkeeper, Deogratious Dida as only Samuel Sekitto’s effort was missed.

The other semifinal witnessed Simba bow out of the tournament after losing 1-0 to Mtibwa Sugar F.C.

Key players:

The tax collectors have dependable players in all the departments depsite having left behind three players in Kampala.

Strikers Robert Sentongo and Frank Kalanda together with defender Richard Kasagga Jjuuko stayed back with the Cranes to train ahead of the CHAN finals in Rwanda.

Brian Bwete remains a key pillar for the team in goal. Simeon Masaba is the overall team captain and his experince has been crucial for the young players.

Saidi Kyeyune, Noah Semakula and Oscar Agaba are vital elements for the club and have been used interchangeably with Derrick Tekkwo and make shift midfielder Julius Ntambi.

Club’s marksman, Godfrey Villa Oromochan, Peter Lwasa, left footed dribbling wizard Elukah Nkugwa and Ronald Kigongo will lead the quest for the much desired goals..

The winner will take $10,000 as the runners up will smile home with $ 5000 and bronze medals.

The event defending champions, KCCA F.C did not participate in the tourney.

Probable URA F.C Line up:

URA XI: Brian Bwete (GK), Simeon Massa, Allan Munaaba, Jimmy Kulaba, Oscar Agaba, Samuel Senkoomi, Saidi Kyeyune, Derrick Tekkwo,Noah Semakula, Godfrey Villa Oromchan and Elkanah Nkugwa.

Subs: Sulait Luyima, Samuel Sekitto, Deo Othieno, Shafik Kagimu, Ronald Kigongo, Bob Kasozi, Peter Lwaswa, Julius  Ntambi

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think