Uganda have their work cut out in the Rugby Afrique CAR Tier 1A competition after they lost 31-40 to Namibia on Saturday at Kyadondo Rugby Grounds.

Tries from Pius Ogena and Philip Wokorach in the first half had only the latter converted by Davis Kiwalabye. Namibia were the better side with their handles in a tie Uganda struggled with low endurance levels.

Theuns Kotze, Rohan Kitshoff (2) both touched down for the visitors as the latter commanded a 100% form from his conversion. Namibia led 21-12 at half time and started the started the second strongly, Chrysander Botha sneaked away to stretch the lead this time round Theuns Kotze failed to convert.

It was the second time in the game that his boot was failing him in the game. 26-19 Namibia led. Chris Lubanga’s try was converted by Philip Wokorach whose boot had failed him from the start, he had earlier failed to score a penalty and convert Ogena’s try.

Phillip Wokorach touched for Uganda as many times but the home side could not close the margin! © Kawowo Sports // John Batanudde

Endless shouts from Philip Wokorach for his teammates to pick their man yielded nothing as JC Greyling also touched down, Thenus Kotze never disappointed as he touched down, 33-19 Namibia led.

Joseph Aredo came on for Chris Lubanga and with his first touch he aimed for the try line, Philip Wokorach failed to convert, 33-24, Namibia led.

Oscar Kalyango came on for Gerald Sewankambo as John Duncan tried to chase the game, Thenus Kotze’s penalty took the game to a 35-19 lead to the southern Africans.

There was still something left in Philip Wokorach as he touched down but he failed again to convert, 40-31 Namibia led Namibia spend the last minutes of the game playing the kicking game as they tried to run down the clock, it was clear they were tied and all they needed was to defend their led.

The Rugby Cranes will now need to win one of their other two games against Zimbabwe (July 16) and Kenya (July 31) to stand any chance of avoiding relegation to CAR Tier 1B.

Uganda’s starting 15: Asuman Mugerwa, Cyrus Wathum, Brian Odongo (Captain), Charles Uhuru, Byron Oketayot, Ronald Musajja, Pius Ogena, Marvin Odongo, Davis Kiwalyabye, Chris Lubanga, Lawrence Sebuliba, Gerald Sewankambo, Michael Wokorach (Vice Captain), James Odong, Phillip Wokorach

Replacements: Eric Kasiita, Collins Kimbowa, Saul Kivumbi, John Wandicho, Bryan Asaba, Ivan Makmot, Oscar Kalyango, Joseph Aredo

Namibia’s starting 15: Casper Viviers, Gerhard Lotter, AJ de Klerk, Janco Venter, Tjiuee Uanivi (captain), Rohan Kitshoff, Tinus du Plessis, Leneve Damens, Eugene Jantjies, Theuns Kotze (vice-captain), Gino Wilson, Johan Deysel, JC Greyling, Chrysander Botha and Johan Tromp.

Replacements: Louis van der Westhuizen, Collen Smith, Quinton Esterhuizen, Ruan Ludick, Muniovita Kasiringua, Arthur Bouwer, Darryl de la Harpe and Heinrich Smit

Senior staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering volleyball, football and badminton

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think