Donald Rukare was recently appointed the chairman of the National Council of Sports Credit: Aisha Nakato
[/media-credit] Donald Rukare the USF President Credit: Aisha Nakato

Donald Rukare garnered 23 of 28 available votes to beat his opponent Tefiro Serunjogi and retain his position as president of Uganda Swimming Federation for the next four years.

“The outcome of this (election) is a sign of trust the electorate has in our team,” Rukare, who has been USF head since 2004, said in his victory speech at the elective assembly held at Uganda Olympic Committee offices in Lugogo on Saturday.

[/media-credit] Tefiro Serunjogi who lost lost Donald Rukare Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

His opponent Tefiro Serunjogi and his camp, comprising of parents from Seals Swim Club, conceded defeat but said the process leading to the election was completely unfair to them as they only got to know the voters on the very day of the election.

[/media-credit] Peter Mugisha retained the position of Vice-president (Administration ) Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

In the other contested positions, Peter Mugisha retained his position as the Vice president (Administration) after beating former treasure Irene Mudanyi 24-04. Mudanye, who is also Seals’ treasurer, resigned from the former executive in 2015 citing personal reasons.

[/media-credit] Moses Mwase returned as general secretary Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

Moses Mwase also returned as the general secretary (GS) after defeating Seals GS Rachael Kituuka while Albert Wasswa was elected assistant general secretary ahead of Seals’ Virginia Ssemakula.

[/media-credit] Nana Nakiddu, one of the ladies on the committee Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

Nana Nakiddu, Lillian Mugisha, Williams Buyondo, Steven Katumba and Erick Kisero became committee members at the expense of Henry Musoke, Grace Kiggundu and Lillian Nakijoba.

Florence Nakakawa from Dolphins and coach Muzafaru Muwanguzi, were unopposed in their quest for the positions of treasurer and Vice president (Technical) respectively.

USF Executive 2017-2021

President: Dr Donald Rukare

Vice President – Administration: Peter Mugisha

Vice President – Technical: Muzafaru Muwanguzi

General Secretary: Moses B. Mwase

Assistant General Secretary: Albert S. Wasswa

Treasurer: Florence Nakakawa

Assistant Treasurer: Annet Mwebeiha

Competitions Secretary: Max Kanyerezi

Assistant Competitions Secretary: Elizabeth Kabahenda.

Committee Members: Nana Nakiddu, Lillian Mugisha, William Buyondo, Erick Kisero and Steven Katumba

Senior Photographer for Kawowo Sports

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply