Damani Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

[media-credit name=”© Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO” align=”alignnone” width=”901″][/media-credit]

Damani Vs KICC was the pick of the games this weekend in Division One of The Jazz Safari Cricket League.

In their first game this season KICC had three Kenyan Internationals Elijah Othieno, Gurdeep Singh and Abdallah in their ranks to add on to the already star studded team with the likes of experienced Frank Nsubuga, national team captain Davis Karashani and U19 prodigy Zephaniah Katungi.

And at 90/3 in 17 overs KICC was set for a big score, but the wheels came off in a space of 5 balls when Gurdeep Singh was caught off the bowling of Tabby Denis, Davis on his debut played on for zero and Raheel followed him next ball.

There was no chance for the tail to wag and at 117/8 in 20 overs as Damani went for the kill dismissing KICC for a paltry 142. Damani didn’t break much sweat in the chase with Arnold Otwani scoring 45 to lead them to a 7 wicket win.

“Bad day in office but onto the next one with lessons,” Karashani said of his debut for KICC.

At Kyambogo, Champions Tornado Bee made light work of Partidar with John Mpande picking up 5/40 enroute to an 8 wicket win.

At the lakeside oval in Entebbe Charity is still looking for their maiden win in the top flight as they went down against last season runners up Challengers by 79 runs. Afridi Irfan picked up a fiver 5/23 with national team batsman Shazhad Kamal scoring 46 runs.

In Division Two, SKPLS and Premeir picked up valuable wins against Tornado A and Jinja SS respectively in the race for promotion to Division One. SKPLS managed a 51 run win over Tornado A in Buddo while Premier beat Jinja SS by 8 wickets in Jinja.

On Saturday in Division Three, Nyakasura continued their impressive debut run in the national league beating Buddo by 3 wickets in Buddo.

Nyakasura has managed to score at least a half century in each of its games. Brian Asaba was the man of the day scoring 55 runs.

Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO

Match summaries for the Jazz Safari National Men’s League 2017

Saturday, 1st April 2017

Budo Oval
KC Budo124/10 in29.3 Overs lost to Nyakasura CC 130/7 in 26.4 Overs by 3 wickets.

  • Toss won by Budo who opted to bat
  • Batting Budo: Samuel Senkungu 30(33), Moses Yiiga 12(26)
  • Bowling Nyakasura: Pascal Murungi 2/27 in 8 Overs, Samuel Ntimba 2/23 in 7 Overs
  • Batting Nyakasura: Asaba Brian 55(51), Briton Muganzi 19(27)
  • Bowling Budo: Thawi Philip 2/19 in 8 Overs, Samuel Senkungu 2/46 in 8 overs
  • Man of Match: Asaba Brian

Sunday, 2nd April 2017

Lugogo Oval

KICC 141/10 in 27.5 Overs lost to Aziz Damani 143/3 in 32.5 Overs by 7 wickets

  • Toss won by Damani who opted to field
  • Batting KICC: Gurdeep Singh 32(32), Zephania Arinaitwe 21(10)
  • Bowling Damani: Fahad Sadiq 4/30 in 6 overs, Steve Tikolo 3/14 in 3.5 Overs
  • Batting Damani: Otwani Arnold 45(57), Brian Masab 27(46)
  • Bowling KICC: Davis Karashani 3/22 in 8 Overs
  • Man of Match: Steve Tikolo

Kyambogo Oval

Patidar CC 75/10 in 23.5 Overs lost to Tornado Bee CC 76/2 in 12 Overs by 8 wickets

  • Toss won by Tornado bee who opted to field
  • Batting Patidar: Gaurang Patel 21(33), Hilal Patel 15(25)
  • Bowling Tornado Bee: John Mpande 5/40 in 10 overs, Deus Muhumuza 4/16 in 7.5 Overs
  • Batting Tornado Bee: Akbar Baig 29(30), Abdallah Lubega 12(21)
  • Bowling Patidar: Said Muwanga 1/31 in 3 Overs
  • Man of Match: John Mpande

Entebbe Oval

Challengers CC 159/10 in 49.5 overs beat Charity CC 80/10 in 25.3 Overs by 79 runs

  • Toss won by Challengers who opted to bat
  • Batting Challengers: Shazhad Kamal 46(62), Naseer Ahmed 38(44)
  • Bowling Charity: Boris Aguma 3/26 in 10 Overs, Lawrence Sempijja 2/8 in 8 Overs
  • Batting Charity: Simon Sesazi 25(40)
  • Bowling Challengers: Afridi Irfan 5/23 in 10 Overs, David wabwire 3/22 in 8.3 Overs
  • Man of Match: Irfan Afridi

Budo oval

SKLPS 266/5 in 50 overs beat Tornado CC 215/10 in 43.1 Overs by 51 runs

  • Toss won by SKLPS who opted to bat
  • Batting SKLPS: Manshuk Gorasiya 71(93), Ajay Hirani 46(98)
  • Bowling Tornado: John Gabula 3/46 in 10 Overs, Saddam Oyaga 1/38 in 10 overs
  • Batting Tornado: Agaba Eddy 80(93), John Gabula 32(60)
  • Bowling SKLPS: Pritesh Jeshani 5/52 in 10 overs, Yogesh Rabadia 2/27 in 7 Overs
  • Man of Match: Manshuk Gorasiya

Jinja Oval

Jinja SS CC 74/10 in 29.1 Overs lost to Premier CC 75/2 in 12.1 Overs by 8 wickets

  • Toss won by Jinja SS who opted to bat
  • Batting Jinja SS: Ahmed Khan 16(15), Mpanuka Hassan 12(45)
  • Bowling Premier: Mohil Patel 5/22 in 5.1 overs, Rateesh Nair  3/14 in 8 overs
  • Batting Premier: Hitesh Prajapati 26(28), Ali Dilshan 19(10)
  • Bowling Jinja SS: Bwire Derrick 1/41 in 6 overs, Elelu Joel 1/27 in 6.1 Overs
  • Man of match: Mohil Patel

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply