KCCA FC's Geoffrey Sserunkuma in action against Police Fc Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

Uganda Cup 2016/17: Quarter final

Police 0-1 KCCA (After Extra Time)

[/media-credit] Derrick Nsibambi scored late in extra time to book KCCA a slot in the semi-finals Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

It took KCCA Football Club 100 minutes to notch the match winner against Police in the last quarter final of this year’s Uganda Cup played at the Nelson Mandela National stadium, Namboole on Sunday.

Striker Derrick Nsibambi tapped home the winning goal following Paul Mucureezi’s well set ball 10 minutes into the opening stanza of extra time.

Normal time of the game had failed to produce any goal before former FIFA referee Rajab Bakasembe called for the additional extra 30 minutes to determine the winner.

KCCA optimally utilized the advantage to find the goal but nearly lost the lead had midfielder Rahmat Senfuka scored a penalty awarded in the 115th minute.

Bakasembe pointed to the penalty spot when right back Denis Rukundo had wrestled down pacy former KCCA forward Anthony Bongole to the ground.

Debutant goalkeeper Douglas Kisembo, one of the 5 changes in the KCCA team that won 1-0 away to Express on Friday saved Senfuka’s kick.

The other four changes KCCA manager Mike Mutebi made witnessed Timothy Awany, Tom Masiko, Ivan Ntege and the goal scorerr Nsibambi all starting.

KCCA join record league cup winners Express, Sadolin Paints and the only Big League side, Paidha Black Angels at the last four clubs standing.

The Kasasiro Boys will face Express in a two legged semifinal and have a realistic chance of winning a domestic double.

The other semi-final clash will see Sadolin Paints play Paidha Black Angels.

FUFA Competitions Department headed by Ali Mwebe will confirm the dates of the semifinal clashes.

Vipers are the reigning cup holders.

The final of year’s edition, the 43rd will be held at the Green Light Stadium in Arua.

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu Cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 –Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976- Gangama F.C

1977- Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa F.C

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa F.C

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2007/8 – Victors S.C

2008/9 – SC Villa

2009/10 – Victors S.C

2010/11 – Simba S.C

2011/12 – URA F.C

2013/2013 – Sports ClubVictoria University

2013/2014 – URA F.C

2014/2015 – SC Villa Jogoo

2015/16 – Vipers

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think