Duncan Mubiru Credit: Courtesy
[/media-credit] Duncan Mubiru Credit: Courtesy

Duncan Mubiru and George Semakula entered the Fort Portal rally 90 points behind leaders Ronald Sebuguzi and Leon Ssenyange.

A finish ahead of the leading crew would reduce the points deficit. The advantage was however handed to Mubiru early in the event with Sebuguzi’s retirement on day one.

However, Duncan’s hopes and efforts were all crushed when his Mitsubishi Evo X’s gear box gave way in stage three.

It was the second successive DNF (did not finish) for the Kikankane rally team. And this time meant a fall on the NRC standings.

Mubiru now moves to fourth position tying with Omar Mayanja on 160 points after four events.

Ronald Sebuguzi and Leon Ssenyange maintain their NRC lead despite a DNF in Fort Portal.

However, Mubiru and Sebuguzi’s weekend’s misfortunes made the championship battle wide open with three events remaining and only 75 points separating first from second.

Top nine NRC standings

  1. Ronald Sebuguzi/Leon Ssenyange 250pts
  2. Christakis Fitidis/Eric Nzamwita 175
  3. Fred Wampamba/Paul Musaazi 175
  4. Duncan Mubiru/George Semakula 160
  5. Omar Mayanja/Hussein Mukuye 160
  6. Kuku Ranjit/Musa Nsubuga 125
  7. Kepher Walubi/Susan Kalema 105
  8. Ambrose Byona/Derrick Lubambula 100
  9. Hassan Alwi/Joseph Kamya 100

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think