Masaza action Credit: Kawowo Sports

Airtel Masaza Cup Results

Sun, 11th June 2017

  • Buvuma 0-0 Mawokota
  • Butambala 0-1 Kyadondo
  • Mawogola 1-2 Kooki

Sat, 10th June 2017

  • Ssese 1-3 Buddu

Despite missing a penalty, Kyadondo still managed to register a slim 1-0 away victory over Butambala in the 2017 Airtel Masaza Cup match played at the Kibibi S.S playground in Mpigi on Sunday.

Abbasi Kiberu scored the lone goal on the day in the 68th minute of the well attended match.

The visitors would have stretched the lead had Iga Lule successfully converted his penalty kick in the 77th minute.

Butambala goalkeeper Davis Savio was at his best to parry the ball out for a goal kick.

Owen Kasule and Derrick Otim were a thorn in the flesh of the Butambala.

In the other games played on the day, Kooki won 2-1 away to Mawogola as Buvuma was held to a score-less draw at their Kasaali playground on Buvuma Island.

Earlier on Saturday, defending champions Buddu registered their second victory of the campaign with a convincing 3-1 victory over Ssese at Lutoboka playground on the Lake Victoria island.

Left back Umar Kato and former Ssese striker Julius Mugema (brace) were on target for Buddu. Richard Ssonko got the consolation for Ssese county.

Buddu are the defending champions.

Airtel Buganda Masaza Cup All Winners:

  • 2016 – Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012– Bulemeezi
  • 2011– Buluri
  • 2010– Not Held
  • 2009– Gomba
  • 2008– Kyadondo
  • 2007– Mawokota
  • 2006– Kooki
  • 2005– Mawokota
  • 2004– Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think