Stephen Omony and Stanley Ociiti are part of the team Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AISHA NAKATO
[/media-credit] Stephen Omony leads cast of locally based players Credit: Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

When the draws for the 2017 FIBA Afrobasket were conducted about a month ago, Mandy Juruni’s plan was to have home-based Silverbacks train for at least three weeks before linking up with the foreign-based legion.

However, because of lack of finances – which is a common place for Ugandan sport – not even the locally based players who were to be part of the team were named to start practice.

And with the tournament barely three weeks away, the team has only been named and it consists of nine home-based players led by skipper Stephen Omony and as expected Jimmy Enabu, Ben Komakech and Joseph Ikong.

Warriors forward Stanley Mugerwa has surprisingly been included on the team that also has UCU Canons guard Jonathan Egau as well as City Oilers duo of James Okello and Jonah Otim.

Syrus Kiviiri’s fine form this term with Warriors has earned him a place on the team that has four foreign-based players.

Stanley Ociiti and A’darius Pegues who helped the team qualify for the continental showpiece lead the foreign legion that also has newcomer Robinson Odoch Opong as well as Samuel Kalwanyi who played at the 2015 event.

Having secured $120,000 from government, the team is expected to leave the country on Wednesday for camp in Egypt before connecting to Dakar, Senegal that will play host to Group B (in which Uganda is pooled) and Group D in the preliminary round.

The tournament tips-off September 8 and will run up to September 16.

The Team

1. Ben Komakech

2. Jimmy Abraham Enabu

3. Syrus Kiviiri

4. Robinson Odoch Opong

5. Jonathan Egau

6. Jonah Kermu Otim

7. Joseph Ikong Anyuru

8. Stephen Omony

9. James Okello

10. Stanley Mugerwa

11. Samuel Kalwanyi

12. Stanley Ocitti Ochaya

13. A’darius Pegues

The Groups

Group A: Nigeria, DR Congo, Mali and Ivory Coast

Group B: Angola, Central African Republic, Morocco and Uganda

Group C: Tunisia, Guinea, Rwanda and Cameroon

Group D: Senegal, Mozambique, Egypt and South Africa

Franklin Kaweru is the Editor in Chief of Kawowo Sports. He is an ardent basketball enthusiast.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think