Kololo SS (200/4), Busoga College Mwiri (203/3) and Jinja SS (244/2) all scored double centuries in their 20 overs in the morning games in the ongoing schools cricket week.

Nyakasura scored 244/4 in the afternoon against Kilembe SS. Frank Akankwasa (129) and Perry Wazombe (105) scored centuries for Kololo SS and Jinja SS respectively.

Jinja SS put Aga Khan to the sword scoring 244/2 helping themselves to a 204 runs win further enhancing their favorites status.

In the same group A, Mwiri ran riot in Kyambogo against Masaka SS setting 203/3 before dismissing Masaka SS for 33 earning a 170 runs win.

Kololo SS clobbered Rwanda Select by 160 runs after batting 1st and setting 200/4. The result kept Kololo SS on top of Group B closely followed by Nyakasura who also defeated Ndejje SS by 79 runs.

In the afternoon Kololo SS followed up their morning win with another win against St James by 10 wickets, Jinja SS continued their dominance beating Olila High School by 10 wickets and Masaka SS nicked Aga Khan y 6 wickets.

In the race for the semis Jinja SS and Mwiri are comfortable in Group A while Kololo SS and Nyakasura are dominant in Group B.

The top 2 teams in each group will qualify for the semis with the winner in Group A playing the second runner up in Group B and vice versa.

Match Summaries for the UCA Boy’s Schools Cricket Week 2017

29th August 2017


Lugogo Oval

Jinja SS 244/2 in 20 Overs beat Aga Khan 40/10 in 14.1 overs by 204 runs.
Toss won by Jinja SS who opted to bat

Batting Jinja SS: Perry Wazombe 105(61) N.O, Calvin Watuwa 42(23) N.O
Bowling Aga Khan: Hirani Monish 1/37 in 4 overs
Batting Aga Khan: Monish Hirani 8(35)
Bowling Jinja SS: Perry Wazombe 4/9 in 4 overs

Kyambogo Oval
Busoga College Mwiri 203/3 in 20 overs beat Masaka SS 33/10 in 10.5 overs by 170 runs
Toss won by Mwiri who opted to bat

Batting Mwiri: Rogers Olipa 75(45), Trevor Bukenya 43(21) N.O
Bowling Masaka: Collins Okwalinga 1/15 in 4 overs
Batting Masaka: Ronald Lutaya 9(12)
Bowling Mwiri: Innocent Mwebaze 6/6 in 3 overs, Marvin Kitamirike 3/7 in 4 overs

Budo Grass
Nyakasura School 153/10 beat Ndejje SS 74/10 in 13 overs by 79 runs
Toss won by Nyakasura who opted to bat

Batting Nyakasura: Brian Asaba 69(31), Joel Musinguzi 39(39)
Bowling Ndejje: Samuel Alum 4/27 in 4 overs
Batting Ndejje: Rogers Migadde 21(20)
Bowling Nyakasura: Joseph Baguma 3/17 in 3 overs, Pascal Murungi 3/25 in 4 overs

Budo Astra
Kilembe SS 69/9 in 20 overs lost to Mukono Parents 70/5 in 6.2 overs by 5 wickets
Toss won by Kilembe who opted to bat

Batting Kilembe: Raphael Kambale 16(22)
Bowling Mukono Parents: Cosmas Kyewuta 3/13 in 4 overs
Batting Mukono Parents: Cosmas Kyewuta 24(13)
Bowling Kilembe: Obed Masereka 4/17 in 2.2 overs

Gayaza Oval
Kololo SS 200/4 in 20 overs beat Rwanda Select 40/10 in 16.2 overs by 160 runs
Toss won by Kololo who opted to bat

Batting Kololo: Frank Akankwasa 129(63)
Bowling Rwanda: Chanceriel Nzabarinda 1/37 in 4 overs
Batting Rwanda: Ndabendore Mubarak 8(6)
Bowling Kololo: Frank Akankwasa 3//12 in 4 overs, Mubarak Wandera 3/6 in3.2 overs


Lugogo Oval
Aga Khan 58/10 in 10.1 overs lost to Masaka SS 62/4 in 7.3 overs by 6 wickets
Toss won by Aga Khan who opted to bat

Batting Aga Khan: Mohil Patel 36(23)
Bowling Masaka: Boniface Asiyanzu 4/29 in 4 overs
Batting Masaka: Geoffrey Kakaire 23(11)
Bowling Aga khan: Kheman Jeshani 3/12 in 3 overs

Kyambogo Oval
Olila HS 58/5 in 20 overs lost to Jinja SS 61/0 in 5 overs by 10 wickets
Toss won by Olila HS who opted to bat

Batting Olila: Didimos Ochaga 14(36)
Bowling Jinja: Perry Wazombe 2/11 in 4 overs
Batting Jinja: Perry Wazombe 27(18), Calvin Watuwa 25(12)
Bowling Olila: Derrick Angato 0/20 in 2 overs

Budo Grass
Ndejje SS 45/10 in 11 overs lost to Mukono Parents 48/2 in 3.4 overs by 8 wickets
Toss won by Ndejje who opted to bat

Batting Ndejje: Moses Bivar 20(8)
Bowling Mukono: Zephania Arinaitwe 4/18 in 4 overs, Gabriel Kiiza 3/5 in 1 over
Batting Mukono: Cosmas Kyewuta 31(10)
Bowling Ndejje: Steven Tusiime 1/4 in 1 over

Budo Astra
Nyakasura School 244/4 in 20 overs beat Kilembe SS 71/10 15.3 overs by 173 runs
Toss won by Nyakasura who opted to bat

Batting Nyakasura: Pascal Murungi 61(39), Matiya Murungi 50(28)
Bowling Kilembe: Festo Bwambale 1/56 in 4 overs
Batting Kilembe: Obed Masereka 37(40)
Bowling Nyakasura: Joseph Baguma 4/21 in 4 overs, Pascal Murungi 3/17 in 4 overs

Gayaza Oval
St James SS 64/7 in 20 overs lost to Kololo SS 66/0 in 7.1 overs by 10 wickets
Toss won by St James who opted to bat

Batting St James: Timothy Kawanguzi 21(28)
Bowling Kololo: Arnold Jurua 3/18 in 4 overs, Jaffer Ochaya 2/20 in 4 overs
Batting Kololo: Frank Akankwasa 53(27)
Bowling St James: Pius Oluka 0/27 in 3.1 overs

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think