Hasifa Nassuna of Kawempe Muslim lifts the FUFA Women Elite League trophy Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

2017 Airtel-FUFA Awards

  • 1st December – At Speke Resort Munyonyo, Kampala
  • Start time: 7 p.m

MVP Nominees

  • Male: Geofrey Sserunkuma (KCCA, Buildcon & Uganda Cranes), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA  & Uganda Cranes), Tadeo Lwanga (SC Villa Jogoo & Vipers)
  • Female: Hasfa Nassuna (Kawempe Muslim & Uganda Crested Cranes), Vanesa Karungi (Olila High School), Fazila Ikwaput (Olila High School & Uganda Crested Cranes)
[/media-credit] KCCA FC’s Muzamiru Mutyaba in action against BUL FC. He was phenomenal for KCCA and the country Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

The third edition of the Airtel-FUFA Awards on this Friday, 1st December 2017 at Speke Resort Munyonyo, Kampala.

Just like for the past two editions, all roads will lead to the lake side Speke Resort Munyonyo.

UPL reigning Footballer of the Year Geoffrey Sserunkuma (top scorer last season with champions KCCA) is an overwhelming favourite for the men’s gong.

Now plying his trade in Zambia with Buildcon, Sserunkuma faces a stiff battle with former club mate Muzamiru Mutyaba as well as Vipers’ Tadeo Lwanga.

Sserunkuma, 32,  scored a season high 32 goals – 21 in the league, 6 in the league cup and the rest in the CAF Champions League and Confederation Cup, 4 and 1 goals respectively.

He also played at the AFCON finals in Gabon as Uganda Cranes returned to the biggest continental show piece in over 39 years.

[/media-credit] 2016-17 Uganda Premier League MVP Geoffrey Sserunkuma Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

In the current AFCON 2019 qualifiers, he already has a goal to his name, having netted the lone strike against Cape Verde in Praia.

Creative midfielder Mutyaba scored 6 league goals with 8 assists to his name and also won the Uganda Cup.

Lwanga was skipper for SC Villa Jogoo with exceptional display, guiding the club to second place finish in the league.

Christened the ‘Engineer’, Lwanga scored two goals in the season but was a key pillar for SC Villa Jogoo with awesome leadership skills on and off the field of play.

[/media-credit] Taddeo Lwanga during the Villa days. He has since changed sides to Vipers Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

For the females, Hasfa Nassuna, who won the award last year could become the first player to win back to back.

After guiding Kawempe Muslim to their third successive title in as many years as well as top scoring in the league, Nassuna is indeed tipped for her 26 individual goals.

She is short listed alongside Olila High School goalkeeper Vanesa Karungi and club mate Fazila Ikwaput.

Both Karungi and Ikwaput won the FUFA Women Cup.

[/media-credit] 2017 FUFA Women Elite League Best players. Best goalkeeper Ruth Aturo, top scorer Hasifa Nassuna and MVP Fazila Ikwaput Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

The final list of nominees was determined by the head coaches of the 16 Uganda Premier League clubs.

For the third year running, telecommunications giants Airtel Uganda Limited will be the main sponsors.

As that case was in 2016, Airtel Uganda sunk a whopping Shs100M for the black tie event but unlike the previous editions, the various nominees will not go back empty handed.

Each of the unsuccessful nominees will smile with Shs500,000.

There are 11 categories of the awards to be given out on the evening.

These are; Male Airtel FUFA Award, Female Airtel FUFA Award, FUFA Best XI, FUFA Presidential Award, FUFA Fair Play Award, FUFA Up coming Talent Award, FUFA Referees Award, FUFA Coach of the Year, Beach Soccer Player of the Year, Fans’ player of the Year (Ugandan & foreign based).

The MVP awards as well as the fans’ player of the year (Ugandan & foreign based) will be determined via sms.

Last year, Muhammed Shaban beat Dennis Onyango to the male top gong as Hasifa Nassuna easily won the female accolade.

Just like the previous year, each of the two MVP’s will drive home.

This year, a trip for each of the winners has been included among the rewards.

The Vice President Edward Kiwanuka Ssekandi will be the chief guest according to the FUFA Marketing director Esther Musoke.

Categories of Awards:

Category 1; Airtel-FUFA Male Player of the Year 2017:

  • Geoffrey Sserunkuma KCCA FC-Uganda/Buildcon (Zambia) and Uganda Cranes
  • Muzamir Mutyaba KCCA FC and Uganda Cranes
  • Tadeo Lwanga Sc Villa, Vipers Sports Club

Category 2: Airtel FUFA Female player of the year 2017:

  • Hasifah Nassuuna Kawempe Muslim SSS FC, and Crested Cranes
  • Vanessa Karungi Olila High School
  • Fazilah Ikwaput Olila High School, Crested Cranes

Category 3: FUFA Best XI:

This category is voted for by members of the Uganda Football Players Association (UFPA). All players; retired and active are members of the UFPA.

The players will chose the best keeper, defenders, midfielders and strikers. The best XI is not restricted to players featuring in the Azam Uganda Premier League only but takes care of the players in the 2nd (FUFA Big League), 3rd (Regional Leagues) 4th and 5th (District Leagues).

Category 4: FUFA Presidential Award:

The recipient of this award is selected by the FUFA President. The Presidential Award may be conferred in honour of one special event or a lifetime achievement by an individual either in the areas of administration, Referee, Coach, Sports Medicine, Media, Fan, support personnel, Employee who is deemed by the FUFA President to have contributed to the game of football. The Award may be given posthumous.

Category 5: FUFA Fair Play Award:

Discipline is key in all sports inclusive of football. This award will go to the team that had the least number of yellow cards and Red cards last season in the Azam Uganda Premier League.  Every yellow card earned 1 point, red card 3 points. A club with the least points as provided by the Uganda Premier League Secretariat is announced winner of the FUFA Fair Play Award.

Category 6: FUFA Upcoming Talent:

The Short list is a summary as per nomination time of opinion of all the coaches of the 16 clubs in the FUFA Juniors League.

Nominees are:

  • Asaba Ivan-KCCA Soccer Academy
  • Sadat Anaku-KCCA Soccer Academy
  • Salim Abdallah-Sc Villa Jogoo Junior Team

Category 7: FUFA Referee of the Year

The FUFA Referees Standing Committee and Uganda Football Referees Association voted for the Referee of the year.

  • Brian Miiro
  • Mark Ssonko
  • Alex Muhabi

Category 8: FUFA Coach of the year

Uganda Football Coaches Association selected the best coach for this award.

  • Mike Mutebi
  • Asaph Mwebaze
  • Hussein Kheri

Category 9: FUFA Beach Soccer player of the year

The winner of this category was determined by the Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA).

Nominees are:

  • Nasser Lwamunda -Muteesa I Royal University (Goalkeeper)
  • Paul Lule-Muteesa I Royal University
  • Ben Ochen-Makerere University Business School (Now YMCA)

Category 10: Fans’ Favourite Ugandan Player of the year

This award is determined by the fans. It is limited to Ugandans irrespective of where they are playing their club football.

Category 11: Fans Favourite player in Other Leagues- outside Uganda

This award is determined by the fans. It is not limited to any nationality inclusive of Ugandans playing outside of the country.

12-FUFA Upcoming referee of the Year-All the nominees for this award were part of the inaugural FUFA/FIFA Young Referees Course in 2016 at the FIFA Technical Centre in Njeru.

  • Jackie Nassozi
  • Kennedy Kasadha
  • Harunah Mayanja

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think