The FIFA World Cup Trophy Credit: FIFA Media

The FIFA World Cup Trophy Tour reached Africa on Thursday, 22nd February 2018.

Sudan received the 2018 FIFA World Cup trophy, which arrived in Khartoum in the company of Representatives of FIFA Executive Office, as part of its global tour en route to Russia.

Sudan Youth and Sports Minister Abdul-Karim Mussa, Khartoum State’s Youth and Sports Minister Al-Yasa’ Siddiq and leaders of the Sudan Football Association were at the reception of the trophy upon arrival at Khartoum airport.

The Sports Minister as quoted by Xinhuanet described the moment as a new era of glory for Sudan;

The event represents a new era of glory for Sudan, whose doors have become open to the world

Such an event is likely to inform the world about Sudan

Victoria Lopyreva, official ambassador of the FIFA World Cup 2018, for her part, described the arrival of the FIFA World Cup trophy in Sudan for the first time as “a historical moment.”

This is a historical moment.

I think that football unites people, and it doesn’t matter which nationality we are, what the color of the skin or our social background is, all of us are really united by football.

Leading Sudanese businessman Osama Daoud also attended the ceremony in Khartoum on February 22.

The Sudanese sports authorities are scheduled to organize a ceremony on Friday before the trophy heads to Ethiopia on 24th and 25th February.

Nairobi, Kenya will host the trophy on the 26th and 27th before Mozamibque’s turn on the last day of February 2018.

On March 1st and 2nd, the trophy will be in Johannesburg and Cape Town City shall host the entourage on March 3rd.

From Cape Town, the trophy will be flown to Kampala on 5th and 6th March 2018.

Nigeria, Senegal, Cote D’Ivoire and Egypt will be the final countries to host the trophy on the African continent.

For starters, only ten countries will host the trophy tour in Africa.

The 2018 FIFA World Cup trophy tour, sponsored by Coa-Cola kicked off last September in host country Russia and will visit more than 50 countries and regions across six continents, travelling 126,000 kilometers in nine months in the lead-up to the football tournament.

The 2018 FIFA World Cup will be held from June 14-July 15, 2018 in Russia.

  • Khartoum, Sudan                                February 22-23
  • Addis Ababa, Ethiopia                       February 24-25
  • Nairobi, Kenya                                    February 26-27
  • Maputo, Mozambique                        February 28
  • Johannesburg, South africa              March 1-2
  • Cape Town, South Africa                   March 3
  • Kampala, Uganda                               March 5-6
  • Abuja, Nigeria                                     March 7-8
  • Lagos, Nigeria                                     March 9-10
  • Dakar, Senegal                                    March 11-12
  • Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire                       March 13-14
  • Cairo, Egypt                                        March 15-16
  • Naples, Italy                                        March 17-19
  • Paris, France                                       March 20-21
  • Cologne, Germany                             March 22-23
  • Oslo, Norway                                      March 24
  • Torshavn, Faroe Islands                   March 24-25
  • Reykjavik, Iceland                              March 25
  • Tucuman, Argentina                          March 27-28
  • Berazategui, Argentina                     March 29
  • Buenos Aires                                       March 30-31
  • Rosario, Argentina                              April 1-2
  • Bogota, Colombia                               April 3-5
  • Panama City, Panama                         April 6
  • San Jose, Costa Rica                           April 7-8
  • Guadalajara, Mexico                           April 9-10
  • Monterrey, Mexico                             April 11-12
  • Mexico City, Mexico                          April 13-15
  • New York, USA                                 April 16
  • Miami, USA                                        April 17
  • Los Angeles, USA                              April 18-20
  • Frankfurt, Germany                          April 22
  • Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia                     April 23
  • Beijing, China P.R                              April 25
  • Shanghai, China P.R                          April 26
  • Tokyo, Japan                                       April 27-28
  • Osaka, Japan                                       April 29-30
  • Vladivostok, Russia                            May 1

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think