Jas Mangat Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
[/media-credit] Jas Mangat takes the NRC lead after the decision. Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

The Federation of Motorsports clubs of Uganda (FMU) has finally passed the ruling on the Pearl Rally points  after months of review.

The decision comes as a response to an inquiry from 2017 NRC champion Christakis Fitidis who sighted a technical error in the earlier allocated scoring points.

“A fair judgement had to be applied and suspend the bonus points for all cars grouped as S in the Pearl rally and only apply the national points under article 7.1.1.

“Cars that participated in FIA group for the event will be awarded their bonus points a per the rule,” reads in-part the letter from the management committee.

The decision was based on Article 2.4 of the FMU constitution which promotes the principle of fair play. 

An opinion from FIA vice president in charge of Africa, Surinder Thatthi and Richard Leeke who is in charge of ARC were also a basis for the decision.

[/media-credit] Dusman Okee at the FMU symposium earlier this year Credit: Africa Rally Archives

Due to the new FIA fuel tank system several national crews were placed in group S class. 

Before the management committee’s decision, the FMU Sporting Commission reviewed the case and recommended for crews to be placed according to the specific class allocated.

“As the sporting commission, we made our decision according to the regulations and passed on our recommendations to FMU.

“Management committee being the accounting body of the federation, if they thought in their wisdom that the decision we made was not fair, they have the liberty to reject the advice.”

“I believe their decision brings sanity and harmony within the sport,” said Reynolds Kibira, a member of the Sporting Commission. 


The decison has been met with mixed reactions among competitors.

Leon Ssenyange, co-driver to Ronald Sebuguzi offered up his opinion on the decision. 

“It is embarrassing that an inquiry ends up causing a full review. I would think all technical aspects of that rally would be reviewed and not just one because there were anomalies elsewhere that could affect the standings.  

“But also that kind of decision puts to question how previous Pearl rally points have been awarded,” he said.

The decision affects sixteen crews that completed the Pearl Rally; the fifth round of the championship event.

With the changes, Jas Mangat tops the championship standings with one round to go.

The current NRC standings after Pearl Rally points review

  1. Jas Mangat             305
  2. Ronald Sebuguzi   300
  3. Susan Muwonge    295
  4. Hassan Alwi            210

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply