Vipers and Uganda Cranes stylish midfielder Moses Waiswa as well as UCU Lady Cardinals and Crested Cranes goalkeeper Ruth Aturo were named the season’s best players. | Photo: JOHN BATANUDDE

The 2018 Airtel FUFA Awards were held at Ball room of the lake side Speke Resort Munyonyo Hotel in Kampala.

Vipers Sports Club and Uganda Cranes midfielder Moses Waiswa as well as Uganda Christian University (UCU) and Crested Cranes goalkeeper Ruth Aturo were biggest winners on Friday night, driving home as each earned a car.

Waiswa, a stylish midfielder edged two other nominees on the final short list – Allan Okello (KCCA, Uganda U-20 and U-23) as well as Vianne Sekajugo (Onduparaka and Uganda Cranes).

“I thank FUFA for organizing such good awards. I have worked hard for it all year round and ready for new life challenges. I appreciate the effort of my teammates at Vipers and on the national team as well as the nominees and winners in the awards” Waiswa read from his already prepared speech.

Waiswa guided Vipers to the 2017/18 Uganda Premier League success, finishing second in the Stanbic FUFA Uganda Cup as well as being a key member on the Uganda Cranes as the team secured a second successive slot at the TOTAL Afcon finals in 2019.

Moses Waiswa shows off the car key cars. Photo: JOHN BATANUDDE

Goalkeeper Aturo was preferred ahead of Crested Cranes captain and Kawempe Muslim midfielder Tracy Jones Akiror as well as Uganda Martyrs High school Lubaga defender Shadia Nankya to the top gong.

The goalkeeper was outstanding in the Crested Cranes team during the CECAFA Women tournament held in Rwanda and the COSAFA championship in South Africa where Uganda was invited as a guest country.

In both tournaments, she was named the best goalkeeper of the tournament. Domestically, Aturo’s performance in the goal posts inspired UCU to their first major silverware when they clinched the FUFA Women cup.

Moses Waiswa poses off in car. Photo: JOHN BATANUDDE
Ruth Aturo in her car. Photo: JOHN BATANUDDE

St Mary’s Kitende S.S.S director and Vipers Sports Club president Lawrence Mulindwa was named the FUFA Presidential Awards winner, a special catergory selected by the FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo.

This award is conferred upon an individual who is deemed bythe FUFA president to have contributed to the game of football exceptionally. Previous winners of this award included Paul Ssali, Ali Tomusange and Muhammood “Blatter” Kalema.

Lawrence Mulindwa (left) recieves the presidential award from Moses Magogo. Photo: JOHN BATANUDDE

“I am very honoured to receive the FUFA Presidential award. I thank all those who came up with this idea of initiating awards to recognize the efforts of individuals in football. Football is a team sport and together we can achieve much more success with 2026 World Cup a top target” Dr. Mulindwa noted.

FUFA President Moses Magogo, in his key note speech appreciated the role of all stake holders in developing the game right from the players, coaches, administrators, referees, fans, sponsors and government.

He categorically pointed out the value of team work in developing this beautiful game.

“Football is and will remain a team work sport. Collectiveresponsibility is therefore a key pillar in this development process. I thankthe government for having supported the development of football in particularand all the other key stake holders” Magogo remarked.

Moses Magogo making his remarks at the 2018 Airtel FUFA Awards

Chief guest Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi, also the FUFA third Vice president and state minister for Youth and children’s affairs congratulated all the different winners on the night.

She reiterated the strong value that the Government attachesto football and their endeavors to continue supporting the growth of the gameof football among other games.

Government will continue supporting football and other sporting disciplines.  The success story for football in the recent past is no mean achievement. Please maintain the good transparency and accountable practices

Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi, FUFA Third Vice President and State Minister of Youth and 
Guests wined and dined all night | JOHN BATANUDDE

Other awards:

Noel Nasasaira was named the Airtel FUFA Big League player of the year taking home Shs 4M and a 50 Inch Television set courtesy of the other co-sponsors BetLion.

Noel Nasasira (left) gets his Airtel FUFA Big League player of the season award from Uganda Cranes head coach, Sebastien Desabre

KCCA’s Mustafa Kizza took home the Airtel FUFA most promising player award (playing in the Star Times Uganda Premier League between 20-23 years of age).

Kizza beat Fred Amaku (Kirinya-Jinja S.S striker) and Vipers’ defender Geoffrey Wasswa to the accolade.

KCCA FC Manager Mike Mutebi. Photo: Aisha Nakato

For the third year running, KCCA FC manager Mike Mutebi was named the Airtel FUFA Coach of the year.

Mutebi beat off competition from Kawempe Muslim’s Ayub Kalifan and Ndejje University’s Raymond Timothy Komakech.

Brian Miiro Nsubuga gets his award

FIFA Referee Brian Miiro Nsubuga won the Airtel FUFA Referee of the year, coming ahead of Mark Ssonko and Alex Muhabi.

Shamirah Nabukenya was the pick for the Airtel FUFA Upcoming referee of year, outwitting Herbert Bwire and Zamuyati Kawala.

L-R: Mark Ssonko, Brian Miiro Nsubuga and Alex Muhabi. Nsubuga won the best referee accoloade

Meddie Kibirige took home the Airtel FUFA Beach Soccer player of the year award.

The Isabeti and Uganda Sand Cranes goalkeeper was prefered ahead of KIU’s Isaac Isioke and St Lawrence University’s Sulaiman Ochero.

Maroons Football Club won the Airtel FUFA Fair play of the year having 30 yellow cards and one red card in the entire season.

Entertainment by music diva Irene Ntale

Allan Okello was named Airtel FUFA fans’ favourite player of the year based in Uganda whilst Uganda Cranes captain Dennis Onyango took fans’ favourite Ugandan player – foreign based.

KCCA FC die hard multi coloured fan Khassim Kyazze (fan of the year).

Khassim Kyazze gets his best fan accolade from Dr John Ssekajugo

The Airtel FUFA Best eleven of the season had SC Villa goalkeeper Samson Kirya, Paul Willa (Police), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA), TimothyDenis Awany (KCCA), Henry Katongole (Vipers), Nicholas Kasozi (KCCA), MosesWaiswa (Vipers), Allan Okello (KCCA), league top scorer Dan Muzeyi Sserunkuma (Vipers), Nelson Senkatuka (Bright Stars) and Viane Sekajugo (Onduparaka).

Allan Okello gets his award from FUFA first vice president Justus Mugisha

Joseph Mubiru was named the 102.1 FUFA f.m best listener of the year.

The award winners received an instant cash reward each of Shs 1M, transferred electronically to their respective accounts.

Moses Waiswa and Allan Okello. Photo: Aisha Nakato

Airtel Uganda were the main flag ship sponsors of the awards.

Other partners included Bet Lion, Nile Breweries Limited,National Insurance Corporation (NIC), Crown Beverages Limited, BUL Uganda Limited, Eco Bank, Uganda Premier League, Post Bank, BBS TV and 102.1 FUFA f.m.

All winners show off their awards

This as the fourth time that the FUFA Awards were happening.

Some of the Airtel FUFA Awards accolades
KCCA players Nicholas Kasozi and Mustafa Kizza both were on the best XI team of the season

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think