All is set for the 2019 Uganda Para-Badminton International that is set to get underway this weekend in Kampala.

Uganda Badminton Federation CEO, Simon Mugabi, has confirmed 27 countries will take part in the tournament slated for 21st -28th April at Lugogo Indoor Arena.

“Everything is ready and 27 countries will take part in this year’s championship. We expect teams to start arriving on Thursday,” he said.

Some of the countries include Uganda (hosts)Burundi, India, Scotland, USA, Kenya, Germany and Egypt among others.

This is the third time that the tournament is taking place since its inception in 2017.

The teams will compete in six different categories that include two wheelchair classes (WH), two standing classes for lower limb impairment (SL), one standing class for upper limb impairment (SU) and one class for short stature athletes (SS).

Mugabi indicated that the tournament will help players earn points for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics in Japan.

“The tournament is important because it will help players earn points that will help them qualify for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic games.”

For the first time, badminton will be included in the Paralympic games.

Countries confirmed

  • Austria
  • Benin
  • Brazil
  • Egypt
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Central African Republic
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Ghana
  • Germany
  • India
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Scotland
  • South Africa
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Zimbabwe
  • United States of America

Joel Muyita

Joel Muyita is a senior staff writer at Kawowo Sports.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply