Sebastien Desabre
Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastien Desabre in an earlier training session at Lugogo, Kampala (Photo: John Batanudde)

AFCON 2019 (June 21st – 19th July)

Hosted by Egypt

Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastien Desabre has tasked each of the 26 players currently pitched camp in Abu Dhabi in preparation for the 2019 AFCON finals to front their respective cases and justification for making the final 23 man squad.

The Uganda Cranes has since the end of June been camped in Abu Dhabi as they polish up their preparations for the biennial championship.

Everything is moving on very well but I don’t expect any one of you to relax. We have two friendly matches on 9th and 15th June before we fly out to Egypt. Give me every reason to pick you in the final squad. The mind and body of each player in camp must remain focused to make my work very easy when selecting the final 23  man squad next week

Sebastien Desabre, Uganda Cranes Head Coach

Desabre and the technical team will announce the final 23 man squad next week to meet the set deadline of the 11th June 2019, 10 days before kick off of AFCON in Egypt.

Only Montreal Impact’ midfielder Michael Azira, a member of the Uganda Cranes at AFCON 2017 in Gabon and goalkeeper Charles Lukwago are the remaining two players yet to join camp.

Lukwago is now in Kampala after he returned with the rest of the Uganda Cranes’ players from COSAFA 2019 in South Africa.

Goalkeeper Charles Lukwago (right) upon return from COSAFA 2019. He is expected to fly to Abu Dhabi and join the AFCON 2019 bound team (Photo: David Isabirye)

At present situation, there are three goalkeepers, nine defenders, nine midfielders and five strikers.

Uganda Cranes is pooled in group A alongside the hosts Egypt, Democratic Republic of Congo and Zimbabwe.

Desabre engages the players in a talk session in Abu Dhabi (Photo: FUFA Media)

The Uganda Cranes Squad in Abu Dhabi

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal-Sudan), Robert Odongkara (Adama City, Ethiopia)

Defenders: Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Brian Ronald Ddungu Mukiibi (Ostersunds, Sweden), Murushid Jjuuko (Simba, Tanzania), Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town, England), Isaac Muleme (FK Viktoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (Un attached), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Timothy Denis Awanyi (KCCA FC, Uganda), Godfrey Walusimbi (Un-attached)

Midfielders:  Allan “Dancing Rasta” Kateregga (Maritzburg, South Africa), William Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazahstan), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India), Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica, Croatia), Abdul Lumala (Syrianska, Sweden), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC-Uganda), Kirizestom Ntambi- Coffee FC, Ethiopia), Allan Kateregga (Maritzburg, South Africa), Moses Waiswa (Vipers SC, Uganda), Sadam Juma (KCCA FC-Uganda)

Strikers: Alexis Bbakka (Carlstad United, Sweden), Patrick Henry Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC Uganda), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Simba, Tanzania)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think