The Entebbe Golf Course fair ways and greens are in the best shape ever ahead of the 2018 Uganda Golf Open Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS
  • Event: East & Central All Africa Challenge Trophy (ECAACT)
  • Date: Tuesday, 22nd – 26th October 2019
  • Venue: Entebbe Golf Club

The 2019 East and Central All Africa Challenge Trophy (ECAACT) Golf Tournament shall be hosted by the Uganda Ladies Golf Union (ULGU) at the Par 71 Entebbe Golf Club.

The lakeside golfing facility will host the tournament that tees off on Tuesday, October 22 and runs up to October 26.

This tournament was officially launched at the Isuzu MU-X East Africa offices in Kampala.

Four countries to include the hosts Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, and Zambia have duly confirmed to take part.

Irene Nakalembe is Uganda’s team captain

Everything is in control. Our budget is 150 Million Shillings and about half of that is covered

Evah Magala, Team manager, Team Uganda & Uganda Ladies Golf Union President
Members of team Uganda with the sponsors during the launch

Team Uganda

Newly crowned Uganda Ladies Golf Open champion Martha Babirye, on form Peace Kabasweke (fresh from the Tanzania Ladies Open victory), Gloria Mbaguta and skipper Irene Nakalembe will make up team Uganda.

The tournament has received a $7,000 boost from Isuzu Uganda, the same company that was aboard during the Uganda Open.

We are excited to be part of this tournament. we hope our support will help the team yield good results

Mohamed Khadr, Isuzu Country General Manager
Martha Babirye will lead Uganda’s surge for glory on home soil at Entebbe Golf Club

GK Sport Agency has also pledged to take care of the team’s training according to proprietor Gibby Kalule.

“We promise support to the team even after this,” Kalule said.

R&A is the event’s main sponsor and will take charge of the teams’ accommodation.

The ECAACT was started in 2009 by Monica Ntege, the current AACT (All Africa Challenge Trophy) President when she was the trustee for the region then.

Evah Magala is team manager for Uganda’s side

Uganda is yet to win the tournament and will be banking on home advantage this time round.

The tournament is held every two years with Zambia and Tanzania having won two titles apiece.

The 2017 event was not held.

Playing Format

The teams will engage in a 54-hole stroke play championship that will spell over 3 days of 18 holes each.

The best 3 gross scores each round count for each country’s score.

The country with the lowest gross score over the three rounds is declared the winner of the team event.

There is an individual trophy as well, which is awarded to the player with the lowest gross score over the three rounds.

David Isabirye

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think