Kabaka Rona;d Muwenda Mutebi II autographs on a ball before kick off of the 2020 Masaza Cup at FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru

Airtel Masaza Cup 2020 (Semi-finals) – Thursday, January 21, 2021

  • Busiro Vs Gomba (12 PM)
  • Bulemeezi Vs Buddu (3 PM)

*At FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru

The local organizing committee of the Masaza Cup 2020 tournament has confirmed the postponement for the long awaited final.

This was confirmed by the committee first vice chairperson Samuel Mpiima on Thursday, January 21, 2021 moments to the kick off of the two semi-final matches.

“We regret to inform all the stake holders that the final of the Masaza Cup 2020 tournament will be played on a future date that will be publicly confirmed and communicated on time” Mpiima stated.

Airtel Masaza Cup 2020 Local Organizing Committee 1st Vice Chairman

To that effect a special meeting will be convened to suggest the new date for the final as well as the venue.

The development extinguished the rumors that had been circulating all around suggesting other dates.

The final had been scheduled to be held on 23rd January 2021 at FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru in Buikwe District

The first semi-final clash at noon will be between the losing finalists in 2019 Busiro and the four time record Masaza Cup champions Gomba.

In the second semi-final, defending champions Bulemeezi will take on Buddu at 3 PM.

Airtel Uganda is the platinum sponsor of this annual championship whose 2020 edition had been earlier scheduled for June, July and August 2020.

Other sponsors include; Centenary Bank, Kande Poultry Farm, Nabagereka Development Foundation and UNAIDS.

This championship does not accommodate players who have played in the first division (Uganda Premier League), second tier (FUFA Big League) as well as the national teams (U-20, U-23 and Uganda Cranes).

Gomba are the record champions of the tournament with 4 titles to their name, followed by Mawokota.

The date and venue for the final game remains undisclosed at large.

The King of Buganda Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II graces the final and opening games of this championship.

Masaza Cup Cast of All Winners:

  • 2019 – Bulemeezi
  • 2018 – Singo
  • 2017 – Gomba
  • 2016 – Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012 – Bulemeezi
  • 2011 – Buluri
  • 2010 – Not Held
  • 2009 – Gomba
  • 2008 – Kyadondo
  • 2007 – Mawokota
  • 2006 – Kooki
  • 2005 – Mawokota
  • 2004 – Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think