Gomba captain Abdallah Ssentongo receives the trophy from Buganda Kingdom Prime minister Katikiro Owek. Charles Peter Mayiga at Kitende

Masaza Cup 2020 (Climax): Saturday, 06 March 2021:

  • Final: Gomba 3-1 Buddu
  • Third place play off: Busiro 0 (5) – 0 (3) Bulemeezi

Individual Accolades:

  • Most Valuable Player (MVP): Arafat Usama (Busiro)
  • Top Scorer: Charles Bbaale (Gomba) – 8 Goals

The 2020 Masaza Cup tournament was special, organized against the odds, tiding and waves of the COVID-19 Pandemic.

This championship kick off was delayed by over six months and the final had to be postponed for unclear reasons.

Despite having graced and blessed the opening ceremony on 12th December 2020, sadly, the Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II missed the final match between historic champions Gomba and Buddu.

Chief guest Katikiro Charles Peter Mayiga waves to the players prior to kick off

The Lions from Gomba were a class act as they roared to an unprecedented 5th Masaza Cup title, winning in style and fashion despite completing the game with only 10 man because of a straight red card to hard tackling midfielder Fred Atuherwa.

By 17 minutes of the finals, it was done and dusted; the damage had been inflicted as Gomba comfortably led 3-1 at the picturesque St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on 6th  March 2021 behind closed doors.

Jackson Ssemugabi was a complete thorn in Buddu’s flesh through out the game

Tournament top scorer Charles Bbaale, George Kaddu and Fred Gift scored the goals for Gomba whose cultural chief is christened “Kitunzi”.

Titus Ssematimba brushed home the consolation for Buddu on the sunny evening.

Gomba’s George Kaddu fights for ball possession against Buddu forward Frank Ssebufu

As early as the second minute, enterprising forward Jackson Ssemugabi had a great mazy run down the left flank to assist Bbaale who tapped home past goalkeeper Farouk Yawe Ssebanja .

This came after another Gomba forward Junior Juma Lutakome had missed target, leaving a totally unmarked Bbaale to tap home from close range.

The joy was however short-lived with Ssematimba’s glancing header on 8 minutes off a curling corner-kick by Sharif Ssengendo.

It was Gomba again with Kaddu’s venomous free-kick over 40 yards on the quarter hour mark into the roof of the net.

Buddu goalkeeper Farouk Yawe Ssebanja was beaten hands down for Gomba’s second goal, a free-kick from George Kaddu
Gomba players express their delight

The final coating arrived in the 17th minute with an odd goal by defender Gift after beating an off-side trap and leaving defender Angello Kizza grounded before slotting the ball home.

There was a small protest by Buddu players who attacked the center referee, suspecting an off-side by Bbaale but the goal stood as Gomba bossed the game.

Upon restart of play in the second half, Buddu reacted with a change.

Farouk Ssekayi took over Ssengendo’s place for the next 45 minutes.

Abdallah Ssentongo heads the ball away from Titus Ssematimba

Gomba lost utility player George Kiryowa through a head injury and Derrick Mbowa was introduced on the hour mark.

With no further goals in the second half, Gomba lost numerical advantage when holding midfielder Atuhwera was sent for an early shower following a second bookable offence with five minutes to play.

With victory well in sight, Gomba pushed on exciting midfielder Isaac Musiima for Junior Juma Lutakome before left winger Colline Sseruwu  took over Bbaale’s place.

The final whistle was treated with wild celebration from the Gomba players and officials on the field as well as the handful in the VIP section of the stadium.

Chief guest Buganda Kingdom Prime minister Katikiro Owek. Charles Peter Mayiga witnessed the scientific medal and trophy presentation.

Other guests included the host Dr. Lawrence Mulindwa, Omulangira David Wasajja, Buganda ministers and the local organizing committee members among others.

A section of Gomba fans celebrate in the stands
Gomba players celebrate upon winning the 5th championship in the Masaza Cup
Part of the 200 fans allowed at St Mary’s Stadium to watch the final between Gomba and Buddu

This is Gomba’s fifth title after earlier triumphs in 2004, 2009,2014, 2017 and lately 2020.

The champions bagged Shs 12,000,000 and were rewarded gold medals.

Buddu got silver medals on top on Shs 9,000,000 cash prize and the third placed team, Busiro were rewarded with bronze medals, accompanied by Shs 7,000,000.

Busiro beat Bulemeezi 5-3 in post-match penalties after normal time had ended goal-less.

Gomba XI Vs Buddu

Team Line Ups

Gomba XI: Francis Anguzu (G.K -18), Hamis Kefero Dagada (2), George Kaddu (16), Abdallah Ssentongo (26 – Captain), Fred Gift (17), Fred Atuhwera (13), Ali Bayo Arshavin (6), George Kiryowa (15), Jackson Ssemugabi (11), Junior Juma Lutakome (9), Charles Bbaale (14)

Subs: Peter Katongole (G.K – 1), Derrick Mbowa (21), Ashraf Zizinga (10), Isaac Musiima (20), Colline Seruwu (7)

Buddu XI Vs Gomba

Buddu XI: Farouk Yawe Ssebanja (G.K – 18, Captain), Angello Kizza (15), Edward Namasa (4), Gideon Odongo (13), Missi Ssemugera (6), Fahad Nsamba (12), Titus Ssematimba (10), Sharif Ssengendo (5), Marvin Kavuma (7), Jibril Nsimbe (21), Frank Sebuufu (14)

Subs: Nazir Obbo (1), Farouk Sekayi (11), Jovan Mawejje (8), Emmanuel Mwesigwa (9)

Team officials:

  • Head coach: Michael Skills Lukyamuzi
  • Assistant coach: Twaha Miiro
  • Manager: Joseph Lutaaya
  • Doctor: Rose Muwonge
The Gomba and Buddu team captains with the match officials prior to kick off of the 2020 final

Match Officials:

  • Referee: Vincent Kavuma
  • Assistant Referee 1: Michael Kalule
  • Assistant Referee 2: Mustapha Mafumu
  • Fourth Official: Julius Kasibante
  • Assessor: Mark Ssonko
L-R: David Wasajja, Buganda Kingdom Prime minister Mayiga as well as Airtel Uganda officials Remmy Kisakye and Noella Byuma after the post-match press conference
Buganda Katikiro Charles Peter Mayiga signs in the visitors’ book at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende
Gomba 3-1 Buddu Highlights (Credit: NTV)

Roll Cast of All Masaza Cup winners:

  • 2020: Gomba
  • 2019: Bulemeezi
  • 2018: Ssingo
  • 2017: Gomba
  • 2016: Buddu
  • 2015: Ssingo
  • 2014: Gomba
  • 2013: Mawokota
  • 2012: Bulemeezi
  • 2011: Buluri
  • 2010: Not Held
  • 2009: Gomba
  • 2008: Kyadondo
  • 2007: Mawokota
  • 2006: Kooki
  • 2005: Mawokota
  • 2004: Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply