Tanzania U-23 team

2021 CECAFA U-23 Challenge Cup:

  • Group A: Tanzania 1-0 Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)
  • Group C: South Sudan 0-2 Kenya

Tanzania ascended to the summit of group A at the on-going CECAFA U-23 Challenge Cup in Ethiopia.

This followed a hard fought 1-0 win over guests Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) at the Bahir Dar International Stadium on Wednesday.

Reliant llusajo Mwakasagule was the hero with the lone strike in the 65th minute.

Mwakasagule tapped home at the back off after a telling delivery from Nickson Kibabage.

Tanzania now has three points as Uganda and DR Congo have a point a piece.

Uganda takes on Tanzania in an anticipated cracker on Saturday at the same stadium.

Tanzania’s goal against DR Congo (Credit: Azam TV)

It was very difficult for us because my team arrived on Wednesday morning and did not train enough for this tournament. But I am glad we managed to get the vital win in the opening match against a strong side. I am glad we have managed to get the maximum points against a strong and physical team. We now have to get back and plan for the next game against Uganda.

Kim Poulsen, Tanzania head coach (quoted by CECAFA media)
Action between Tanzania and Democratic of Republic of Congo at the Bahir Dar International Stadium (Credit: CECAFA Media)

Meanwhile, Kenya (Emerging Stars) became the first team to progress to the CECAFA U-23 Challenge Cup after a 2-0 group C victory over South Sudan on Wednesday.

Joint tournament top scorer Paul Reagan Otieno (now with three goals) and Super substitute Benson Ochieng Oluoch were the two scorers for Stanley Okumbi’s coached side.

Kenya had defeated Djibouti 3-0 in the opening match and now has 6 points.

Next Matches:

On Saturday at 1 PM, South Sudan takes on Djibouti with hopes of recording a win to have chances as the second best to the semi-finals.

Uganda Kobs take on Tanzania on the same day at 4 PM.

Leading scorers:

3 – Paul Reagan Otieno (Kenya), Ali Suleiman Ibrahim (Eritrea)
2 – Abubeker Nasir Ahmed (Ethiopia), Benson Oluoch Ochieng (Kenya)
1 – William Solomo Tesfae (Ethiopia), Ismael Nsihimirimana (Burundi), Abdourahmani Rukundo (Burundi), Issa Hakizimana (Burundi), Reliant Llusajo Mwakasagule (Tanzania)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think