BUL players celebrate one of their five goals against UPDF

2021-2022 Uganda Premier League (Match Day 19):

  • BUL 5-1 UPDF
  • Police 4-2 Tooro United
  • Onduparaka 0-0 Gaddafi

BUL Football Club humiliated Uganda Peoples’ Defence Forces (UPDF) with a 5-1 victory at the Kyabazinga stadium in Jinja city on Tuesday, March 1, 2022.

Forward Karim Ndugwa maintained his current rich goal scoring form with the opener as early as the 8th minute.

He then assisted Simon Peter Oketch for the second on 21 minutes.

Ibrahim Kazindula scored a penalty with 19 minutes left on the clock.

Ibrahim Kazindula , Simon Peter Oketch and George Kasonko celebrate one of BUL’s goals on the day

Oketch returned with his second goal, BUL’s fourth on the evening in the 86th minute.

Second half substitute Richard Wandyaka capped the icing on the already baked cake with the fifth goal on the stroke of full time off Ibrahim Nsimbe’s assist.

UPDF’s only goal was an unfortunate own goal from defender Walter Ochora coming 8 minutes into the final stanza.

The only caution shown by referee Muzamiru Waiswa was to UPDF right back Aggrey Kiirya in the 55th minute.

Simon Peter Oketch shows the man of the match placard

The pilsner man of the match was BUL playmaker Simon Peter Oketch.

This was the 9th victory for BUL in 19 outings that leaves them fourth on the table standings with 33 points.

UPDF consequently suffered 7th defeat in 19 games, staying 9th with 22 points.

Meanwhile, Police humbled visiting Tooro United 4-2 at the MTN Omondi Stadium, Lugogo.

The game between Onduparaka and debutants Gaddafi failed to find a clear cut winner as it ended goal-less.


Team Line Ups:

BUL XI: Saidi Keni (G.K), Walter Ochora, Douglas Muganga. Richard Ayiko, George Kasonko, Ibrahim Kazindula, Umar Mukobe, Simon Peter Oketch, Karim Ndugwa, Martun Aprem, Reagan Kalyowa

Subs: John Okurut (G.K), Fredson Gwoto, Richard Wandyaka, Ibrahim Nsimbe, Owen Mukisa, Ambrose Kirya, Aggrey Madoi

Head coach: Alex Isabirye


UPDF XI: Brian Bwete (G.K), Aggrey Kirya, Jacob Okawo, Simon Mbaziira, Ibrahim Wammanah, Luwalo Kippa, Rogers Mugisha, Ezekiel Katende, Yassin Sabir, Phillip Taban, Ivan Ahimbisibwe

Subs: Yusuf Wasswa (G.k), Salim Huud, James Begisa, Rogers Adriko, Julius Kisambira, Robert Omunuku, Geofrey Sunday

Head coach: Brian Ssenyondo

Centre Referee: Muzamiru Waiswa

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply