Credit: John Batanudde

The Victoria Pearls training squad preparing for the Capricorn Series in Namibia scheduled for April 19-27 will have the experience of Barbara Mukankusi and Rita Nyagendo.

Mukankusi who is one of the longest-serving players of ladies’ cricket plays as an opening batter and wicketkeeper and that is a position that needed some reinforcement for the Victoria Pearls.

She last featured for the Victoria Pearls during the Victoria Series in Kampala in 2019. The wicketkeeper-batsman had a very good run during the Ladies’ Elite League last year showing a lot of glimpses opening the batting.

Meanwhile, Nyagendo also returns to the side after being away from the game due to maternity leave. The experienced off-spinner was more prolific with the bat during the Ladies’ Elite League as she showed good skills batting down the order something that could benefit the Victoria Pearls if she makes the final squad.

The Victoria Pearls have been without a full-time coach and Lawrence Ssematimba and Lawrence Ssempijja have been named as interim coaches for the side for the Tour to Namibia.

The Capricorn Tri-Series will have Uganda, Zimbabwe, and hosts Namibia and the series will have T20i status. This means that ranking points are available for the sides that help them improve their Global Ranking.

Uganda is currently ranked 19th, Namibia 21st, and Zimbabwe the highest-ranked at 11th.

Full Squad

1. Barbara Mukankusi, 2. Jimia Mohammed, 3. Patricia Timong, 4. Shakira Sadick, 5. Kevin Awino, 6. Leona Babirye, 7. Janet Mbabazi, 8. Rita Musamali, 9. Naomi Kayondo, 10. Maria Nyende, 11. Susan Kakai, 12. Jaqueline Nakayovu, 13. Janet Nakiranda, 14. Rita Nyagendo, 15. Evelyn Anyipo, 16. Eunice Kobusingye, 17. Racheal Acan, 18. Patricia Malemikia, 19. Phionah Kulume, 20. Mildred Anyingo, 21. Mary Akello, 22. Sarah Walaza, 23. Consy Aweko, 24. Christine Anayo, 25. Gloria Obukor, 26. Sarah Akiteng

Denis has represented Uganda in international cricket events including the World Cup. He is currently the captain of Wanderers Cricket Club.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply