Credit: John Batanudde

This article has been edited to reflect changes in the number of participating teams and the composition.

  • Safari Sevens 2023
  • Venue: RFUEA Grounds, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Date: November 17-19, 2023.

The iconic Safari 7s tournament will this year return to its home at the RFUEA Grounds in Nairobi, Kenya for the first time since 2019.

Uganda will send a twelve-man squad for the tournament which will feature ten teams. They include franchises Tropic 7s and Red Wailers from the United Kingdom, Western Province and SA All Stars from South Africa, the fan-favourite Samurai, Germany national 7s team, plus home-based national 7s circuit champions KCB, Morans, and the Shujaa.

Uganda Men’s Squad for Safari 7s (debutant*):

  1. Aaron Ofoyrwoth (Heathens)
  2. Davis Shimwa (Rhinos)
  3. Alex Aturinda (Black Pirates)
  4. Mark Osuna* (Kobs)
  5. Timothy Mugisha (Hippos)
  6. Pius Ogena (Kobs)
  7. Isaac Massanganzira (Black Pirates)
  8. Aaron Tukei (Buffaloes)
  9. Adrian Kasito (Kobs)
  10. William Nkore (Black Pirates)
  11. Roy Kizito* (Impis)
  12. Nobert Okeny (Heathens)

Technical Bench:

  • Coach: Tolbert Onyango
  • S&C Coach: Allan Otim
  • Team Manager: Michael Wandera

Mark Osuna and Roy Kizito, who have been part of the larger training squad for a year, will get their maiden international 7s experience.

Uganda Men’s Sevens celebrate 5th-place finish at the 2021 Safari Sevens Credit: Uganda Rugby Union/TW

Uganda were ranked fifth out of the twelve participating teams during the most-recent edition in 2021.

see women’s squad

Ernest Akorebirungi joined Kawowo Sports in July 2019 after one year as a student volunteer at the Makerere University Games Union. In his role as rugby correspondent, he offers unique insight and analysis...

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think