Grace Nabaggala Credit: Denise Namale for Uganda Rugby Union/TW
  • Safari Sevens 2023
  • Venue: RFUEA Grounds, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Date: November 17-19, 2023.

The iconic Safari 7s tournament will this year return to its home at the RFUEA Grounds in Nairobi, Kenya for the first time since 2019.

Uganda is among the five teams that will compete in the women’s tournament. The others are Tropic 7s from the United Kingdom, Tuks Women from South Africa, and two home-based teams; Kenya Lionesses 1 and 2.

Uganda’s squad for the tournament is among the first to be declared with three days to go until kickoff.

Uganda Women’s Squad for Safari 7s (debutant*):

  1. Agnes Nakuya (Thunderbirds)
  2. Lydia Namabiro (Black Pearls)
  3. Sarah Kirabo (Avengers)
  4. Yvone Najjuma (Thunderbirds)
  5. Grace Nabaggala (Lady Pacers)
  6. Maimuna Nassozi (Avengers)
  7. Lona Sandra Amoli (Thunderbirds)
  8. Peace Lekuru (Avengers)
  9. Ritta Nadunga (Black Pearls)
  10. Rachael Mufuwa (Black Pearls)
  11. Gertrude Kateesa Junior* (Lady Pacers)
  12. Unity Namulala* (Nile Rapids)

Technical bench:

  • Coach: Charles Onen
  • S&C Coach: Kigongo Ssebalamu
  • Team Manager: Prossy Nakakande

Apart from two players – Grace Auma and Mary Gloria Ayot, it is the same squad which featured at the Africa Women’s 7s in Tunisia last month.

Joining the touring squad in their place are Gertrude Kateesa Junior and Unity Namulala who are in line to make their international 7s debuts at the tournament.

Uganda Women’s Sevens celebrate a 3rd place finish at the 2022 Safari Sevens Credit: Uganda Rugby Union/TW

Uganda won the bronze medal match at the last edition in 2021.

see men’s squad

Ernest Akorebirungi joined Kawowo Sports in July 2019 after one year as a student volunteer at the Makerere University Games Union. In his role as rugby correspondent, he offers unique insight and analysis...

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think