Namakula wins Castle Lite Entebbe Ladies Open

Uganda Lady golfer of the year Flavia Namakula, picked up another glorious accolade as she piled up her bulging trophy cabinet when she claimed the second edition of the Castle Lite Entebbe Ladies Open championship at the splendid 18 hole course on Saturday in Entebbe.

The UPDF soldier was in impressive form with scores of 72 and 75 respectively over two days of action in the most prestigious event on the Entebbe Golf Club calendar to win by eight strokes after aggregating three-under-par 147 gross.

Namakula’s dominant show, that left 163 golfer astonished including guest golfers from Rwanda, saw her return level-par 72 on Day One and three-over-par 75 on Day two to grab the only title that was literally

missing from her trophy cabin.

“I am happy to win here after the hard work that I put in, but I must give credit to my closest challengers Irene Nakalembe,Eva Magala, Jenina Nasimolo they give me a good challenge in the tournament,” Namakula said after her win. “I am now looking at bigger horizons in my career at the moment am looking for sponsors so that I can attack the South African tour.”

It was the second time that a lady golfer from Kampala was winning the tournament after last year’s triumph by Jasper Kamukama. Entebbe’s Lydia Nantaba consoled the golfers from her home club by claiming the overall nett crown with a score of 141 she was playing off handicap 16.

Kate Kabenge continued her impressive form by claiming group A(0-16) with 152 nett on count back Rwanda’s Alphonsine Murekatete was runner up with a similar score. She is handicap 11 in her country. Other sponsors for the event included Rwenzori Water Premium and Spedag Logistics.

2nd Castle Lite Entebbe Ladies Open Golf Championship

Final Leaderboard

Flavia Namakula         72        75        147

Irene Nakalembe        80       75        155 
Eva Magala                 84        76        160
Jenina Nasimolo         84        85        169
Monica Ntege             85        84        169

Other winners

Group B(17-36) handicap 19
Sheila Kesiime 144 nett
Maureen Nanyonga handicap 36
145 nett

Group A
Morris Ongwech
65 nett

Group B
Ken Lubega
67 nett

Group C
Herbert Rwamibazi
63 nett

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think