Selected Results:

Men: Wilson Tukire 2 – 0Davis Ssenono (21-6, 21- 15), Innocent Kabagambe 2 – 0 Fanindar (21-12, 21-16)

Women: Shamim Bangi 2-0 Magadalena Lumia (21-4, 21-1), Daisy Nakalyango 2-0 Brenda Awori (21-3, 21-3)

Uganda’s top badminton seeds, Wilson Tukire and Shamim Bangi have enjoyed with ultimate easy early progression to the advanced stages of the 2013 City Tyres Tamiz Sangam Badminton Tourney  that kicked off at the MTN Lugogo Indoor arena on Thursday.

By the official launch of the tournament that has drawn a record over 200 players from Nairobi (Kenya), Mbale, Gulu, Entebbe, Masaka, Mbarara and Kampala, many of the highly favored players like Tukire, Bangi and Nakalyango were smiling after easy work outs.

“So far so good, i will wait for doubles and mixed doubles”, a smiling Tukire told Kawowo Sports.

Shamim Bangi and Daisy Nakalyango had already reached the singles semi-finals by the close of business on Thursday. Shamim got a bye in round one, humiliated Lumia Magadalena in round 2 with a 21-4 and 21-1 scoreline before getting a no-match over the duo of Jovia Komuhendo and Maureen Byarugaba.

Daisy Nakalyango on the other hand, got a bye in round 1, over came Florence Seera in second round before ejecting Brenda Awori at the quaterfinal stage with an identical 21-3 scoreline in the quaterfinals.

Speaking at the official opening of the 2013 tourney, Mohamed Vaheed, the Chairman Tamizh Sangam Uganda commended city Tyres for that timely over 20 M sponsorship package towards developing of youth talent in badminton and the different sporting events like chess, football, basketball and cricket in Uganda.

“We see the youth development as the cornerstone for progress of Uganda and our effective role in sports and games is a step in that direction”, he said.

A special Ug Shs 3 M has been set aside as cash prize for the winners. The open winners (men and women) will win themselves return air tickets to international matches in NIgeria and Bahrain.

Action for the 3 day tourney continues through to Friday and will climax with the presentation of glittering trophies to the different event winners in their respective catergories (U-10, U-14, U-19, 20-35, 36 Plus, and the Elites).



Round 1: Wilson Tukire (Bye), Davis Senono 2 – 0 Patel Dharmick (21-6, 21-15), Davis Arinaitwe (Bye),John Mburu 1- 2 R. Bakaki (16-21, 21-11,21-19)

Fred Kirabo (Bye), John Mubiru 2 -1 Farouq Waya (16-21, 21-11, 21-19), Innocent Kabagambe 2 – 1 Nicholas Kayongo (8-21, 21-16, 21-15),Bruno Masaba 2-0 Max Kanyerezi (21-4, 21-9)


Shamim Bangi 2 – 0 Lumia Magadalena (21-4, 21-1), Daisy Nakalyango 2-0 Brenda Awori (21-6, 21-4), Sylivia Nalunga 2-0 P Marion Tumuhibise (21-9), Gloria Najjuka 2 – 0 Aisha Nakiyemba (21-17, 21-17), M. Nankabirwa 2-0 Mable Namakoye (21-5, 21-17)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply