9th  Nile Special National Pool Championship Grand Finale: Sat, 24th October 2015

  • At the Lugogo Indoor Arena (Kampala) – 9 a.m till late
  • Entry Fees: 15,000/= (Ordinary) & 30,000/= (VIP)

A grueling three months’ process of the 2015 national pool qualifiers witnessed over 3000 players engaged in action from 320 regional outlets in over 1000 bars and places of entertainment.

After the successful qualification routine, the 120 players and the 8 top seeds were all drawn in the 2015 Nile Special pool national championship draws conducted at Rock Catalina bar in Ntinda.

Over the years, the qualifiers have always claimed a victim or two and this year’s frey too took off the record winner, Jonah ‘Joker’ Turigye, who lost in the Entebbe qualifiers at Red Roosters bar.

With all the top seeds buzzing fire, the 2015 Kampala open champion too and a few promising stars in the limelight, the most asked question is who will be the champion?

Under-dogs like George Kyalimpa can cause a storm

From the eight top seeded players by the Pool Association of Uganda (PAU), all the players are virtually ready for the task at hand.

Black Sheep won the 2012 Nile Special National Pool Championship

Former winner, Alfred ”Black Sheep” Gumikirizza will quickly forget the dismissal show at the Kampala open and focus ahead of the national meet.

Black Sheep swore;

I am focused this time round. I really need it (the national title)

Sula Matovu, another top seed believes this is his year.

Matovu, a three time Kampala open winner dreams;

All along, i have been unlucky, i see this as my year

Newly crowned Kampala open winner, Simon Peter ‘The Computer’ Lubulwa anticipates a great showing at Lugogo.

‘The Computer’ , who turns out for Nansana based Icon club notes;

I will build on my recent form to make sure i win the national open for the very first time

The defending champion, Fahad ‘The Bee’ Ssewankambo can never at any one moment be left out of the frame.

Fahad ‘The Bee’ Ssewankambo

His calmness and precision are two vital components that any of his 127 opponents can never underestimate.

Ssewankambo remarks;

I want to defend my title. I have prepared well and ready to go

Other players to watch include last year’s losing finalist, Ivan Kyanyesigye, a deaf man, former winner Fred ‘Bonde’ Namanya, Amos Ndyagumanawe, Oscar Ocacakon, Gulu’s Emma Ocitit, Salim Akwankwasa, and a host of many other players.

Can Ssewankambo make history by defending his trophy or will it be a surprise package?

Edward Kiwanuka is a wild card who could surprise many

Like in the previous two editions, the winner will drive home on the night in a brand new Toyota Mark II, with a cash prize worth Ug.shs 2M, a winner’s jacket and brand new pool tables.

The first runners up gets a pool table and Ug.shs 1M.

There different cash prizes for all the last 16 players in varying proportions.

Pool Association of Uganda (PAU) is mindful of the dress code at the national championship as the body’s publicist, Michael Mawanda attests;

We shall strictly admit players in black shoes, tournament shirt and black trousers.

The national championship is being played for the 9th year running.

Selected Fixtures:

Opening Game: Alfred Gumikiriza Vs Andrew Aseka (Center Table) – 10:00 p.m

Moses Mukwaya Vs Ezekiel Kinyangwa

Ezra Kaggwa Vs Choice Kayongo

Wycliff Mawejje Vs Oscar Ocacakon

Sula Matovu Vs Manisulu Bwanika

Fred Bonde Namanya Vs Chris Mayengo

Navy Matovu Vs Samuel Echumu

Amos Ndyagumanawe Vs George Kiwanuka

Fahad Ssewankambo Vs David Nagabola

Ivan Kanyesigye Vs Ronald Ogenrwoth

 Simon ‘The Computer’ Lubulwa Vs Cyrus Acir

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think