Majority of the Uganda Cranes players who guided the national team to the historic AFCON finals in Gabon come the year 2017 were absent as they were being recognized for the incredible service for their dear nation by the President of the Republic of Uganda, H.E General Yoweri Kaguta Museveni.

On independence day, the President honored 27 active players, several members on the technical bench, the Uganda Cranes support staff, fallen Cranes players and the Hononary FUFA President Lawrence Mulindwa at Luuka District Headquarters.

Last month, the Chancellor/Secretary of the presidential Awards Committee Businge S.T. Amooti wrote to FUFA notifying the federation of the list of people to be honoured.

The letter was addressed to the Executive Director of Federation of Uganda Football Association (FUFA).

The deceased who were honored for their contribution for the development of the beautiful game were; Abby Dhaira, Fred Lukwago and Amir Kalanzi.

The former was Uganda Cranes bus driver.


Denis Onyango, Nicholas Wadada, Joseph Ochaya, Isaac Isinde, Murshid Juuko, Khalid Aucho, Luwagga Kizito, Tony Mawejje, Geoffrey Massa, Farouk Miya, Moses Oloya, jamal Salim, Godfrey Walusimbi, Hassan Wasswa, Geoffrey Sserunkuma, Ivan Ntege, Yunus Ssentamu, Emmanuel Okwi, Denis Iguma, Robert Odongkara, Timothy Awanyi, Lubega Idrissa, Brian Majwega, Brian Umony, Yasser Mugerwa, Erisa Sekisambu, Richard Kassaga


Micho Sredojevic (Coach), Moses Basena (Assistant coach), Fred Kajoba, Ronald Kisolo (Team Doctor), Chris Muyinda (Team Manager), Ivan Ssewanyana (Team Physiotherapist), Ahmed Kabali (Team Driver), Saidi Lugolobi (Team Kits man), Lawrence Mulindwa, Fred Lukwago (RIP), Abby Dhaira (RIP), Amir Kalanzi (RIP).

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think