The Guinea Bissau Credit: Goal
  • The nation will be making their first appearance at the AFCON finals tournament
  • Their squad is basically made of Europe based players 
[/media-credit] The Guinea Bissau side that started against Kenya in the qualification campaign at Nyayo Credit: Goal

Guinea Bissau coach Baciro Cande has named his 35 man provisional squad with nine new faces.

The Africa Nations Cup debutants qualified for Gabon 2017 at the expense of former champions Zambia and Congo Brazzaville as well as the Harambee Stars of Kenya.

Among the new faces on the team is former Everton youngster Francisco Junior, now in Norway.

Others are striker Yazalde from Rio Ave in Portugal, and midfielder Judilson Mamadu Tuncará Gomes, otherwise known as Pele, a former U-20 Portugal international who featured for the nation at the tournament in the U-20 World Cup in 2011.

Drawn in group A with Gabon, Cameroon and Burkina Faso, Guinea Bissau open the tournament on January 14 in Libreville against the hosts, Gabon.

The small West African nation has yet been announced for pre-tournament preparations.

Guinea Bissau squad:

Goalkeepers: Papa Masse Mbaye Fall (CD Orellana Costa Dulce, Spain), Jonas Mendes (Salgueiros, Portugal), Edouard Mendy (Stade Reims, France)

Defenders: Balde (Sporting Lisbon B, Portugal), Mamadu Cande (Tondela, Portugal), Eliseu Cassama (Rio Ave, Portugal), Eridson (Freamunde, Portugal), Emmanuel Mendy (unattached), Formose Mendy (Red Star, France), Rudinilson Silva (unattached), Agostinho Soares (Sporting Covilha, Portugal), Juary Soares (Mafra, Portugal),

Midfielders: Abudu (Operário Lagoa, Portugal), Bocundji Cá (unattached), Francisco Júnior (Stromsgodset, Norway), Jean Paul Mendy (US Quevilly-Rouen, France), Naní (Felgueiras, Portugal), Pele (Benfica B, Portugal), Zezinho (Levadiakos, Greece)

Strikers: Aldair (Olhanense, Portugal), Abel Camara (Belenenses, Portugal), Idrissa Camara (Avellino, Italy), Cícero (Pacos Ferreira, Portugal), Edelino Ié (Sporting Braga B, Portugal), Guti Almada (Real Quelez, Portugal), João Mário (Chaves, Portugal), Fredric Mendy (Ulsan Hyundai, South Korea), Mesca (AEL Limassol, Cyprus), Piqueti (Sporting Braga B, Portugal), Bruno Preira (Colomiers, France), Sami (Akhisar, Turkey) Sana (Academica Viseu, Portugal), Toni Silva (Levadiakos, Greece), Yazalde (Rio Ave, Portugal), Ze Turbo (Tondela, Portugal)

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think