• Saturday February 18, 2017
  • Mamelodi Sundowns (RSA) Vs TP Mazembe (DRC) – Lucas Moripe stadium
TP Mazembe celebrate after winning the 2016 CAF Super Cup CAF

US $100,000 is at stake as African champions Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa and the CAF Confederation Cup holders TP Mazembe face off.

The 25th edition of the competition will be hosted in South Africa as a privilege offered by CAF to Sundowns for winning the CAF Champions League.

Going by the previous ties, Denis Onyango’s side, Sundowns will the advantage given that only thrice (1992, 1997, and 2011), has the winner of the second-tier CAF Confederation Cup lifted the one-off match trophy.

However, in TP Mazembe, they face a big challenge as the Les Corbeaux’ has won three CAF Super Cup titles since 2009 but for the first time in history, they will play away from their home in Lubumbashi grounds.

The Squads

On paper, the two sides look decent with the hosts having in their ranks, three of the five players shortlisted for the African Player of the Year – Based in Africa (2016) namely eventual winner Denis Onyango, Khama Billiat and Hlompho Kekana.

But Keegan Dolly, another of the five nominees has since left for French side, Montpellier.

Like Sundowns with Dolly, Mazembe will be without the trio of Jonathan Bolingi, Merveille Bope and Christian Luyindama, who have also moved to Belgian side, Standard Liege.

The Previous winners since 1992

1992: Africa Sports (Côte d’Ivoire)

1993: Zamalek (Egypt)

1994: Esperance (Tunisia)

1995: Orlando Pirates (South Africa)

1996: Zamalek (Egypt)

1997: Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia)

1998: ASEC Mimosas (Côte d’Ivoire)

1999: Raja Casablanca (Morocco)

2000: Hearts of Oak (Ghana)

2001: Al-Ahly (Egypt)

2002: Zamalek (Egypt)

2003: Enyimba (Nigeria)

2004: Enyimba (Nigeria)

2005: Al-Ahly (Egypt)

2006: Al-Ahly (Egypt)

2007: Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia)

2008: Al-Ahly (Egypt)

2009: TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

2010: TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

2011: MAS Fès (Morocco)

2012: Al-Ahly (Egypt)

2013: Al-Ahly (Egypt)

2014: Entente Sportive Setif (Algeria)

2015: TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

2017: ???


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here